Shanty Town Reaction and other small news bits

Well the cats, Sophie and Sally, are ok with the new enclosure. Charlie loves his new room. He goes in and out, in and out, all day long. Interestingly, all the cats still prefer sleeping on our bed to spending time outdoors at night. They might be going out for a few minutes here and there; just to check out the world. But I am not aware of it; whenever I wake up in the middle of the night the cat lumps are still there.

Elly has developed a couple of really bad habits. First she is jumping on some people; usually me or my mother in law. I know that it is because she is excited; but I don’t like it. She’s big and can knock someone down. The second bad habit is getting up in the middle of the night to bark at things. Of course; the night before we got the cage built; she had a good reason. Charlie and Sophia busted out of through the kitchen window and were galavanting outside at 2 am. But most nights, it’s just plain annoying. I have to get up; tell the dog to get back into bed. And of course, what she tries to do is get into my spot on the bed. So, I forsee some training for Elly in the near future.

That’s OK, because we think she will make an excellent therapy dog. While David was at the nursing home; she was allowed to come visit. And she loved it; seeing new people and getting petted makes that dog happy. It was interesting how the presence of dogs seemed to perk up the residents. Many of them loved to pet the dogs. And all Elly needs (besides a really good temperament) is her canine good citizen award. Of course, not many dogs can reach that goal. But we think she can do it.

Family has been coming from all over for the funeral tomorrow. Liz came home last Friday. Garrett, my brother-in-law arrived on Tuesday. His daughter, Jennifer, arrives tonight. My parents arrive tonight. Maggie can’t come home. She’s got to do her research this summer or she won’t get her masters thesis done. And if you leave bugs in the field unattended, evidently bad things can happen. I don’t really want to know what those bugs do to get into trouble; but I hear involves ending up with many more pests than one wants.

Tonight my parents arrive and we probably will go to 50 barrels for wine and cheese. Maybe even ask the girls to deliver dinner. My New Years resolution was to get out with friends at least once a month. So I joined the wineclub at this local winery. They buy grapes in Northern California, bring them down to Vista, and make the wine right on Main Street in the tasting room. The wine club membership gives me 2 wine tastings or 2 glasses of wine per month. And so every month I have to meet someone at the winery. So far; it’s been good. And I’ve met a number of friends there. Tonight it will be my folks who are intrigued by a dog friendly wine establishment. They will bring Sadie, their dog. I’m not sure if Elly will be invited or not.

Today is the big potluck at work. And yep; I’m organizing it. It’s not hard; lots and lots of people get invited. Either you bring a dish or give me 10 bucks. And then I go shopping with other peoples money. We get to spend about 200 bucks at a really good local deli; buying hot food. Plus another 100 bucks at costco; buying sandwiches and other stuff. The trick is to not get worked up about what people are bringing. All I want to know is are you bringing a yummy surprise or giving me money. And with the money; I do write down the names until the last day. But I don’t worry about checking these names. Last night I floated about 40 dollars; will probably get it back today. And if I get more (very likely) then someone gets to buy donuts or bagels as a surprise in a few weeks. All the potlucks in the past have had lots and lots of leftovers. The best trick of all is announcing clean up policies. Anyone who helps with cleanup gets to take home leftovers. So today, some lucky soul will get half a sliced ham; another 1-2 pounds of sliced cheese and yet another person might get enough hot dish leftovers to have a dinner for two. Everything disappears in 5 minutes. It’s beautiful. With 10 people cleaning I don’t really have to do much work. Its fun and I need something fun. Tomorrow is the funeral and no one is looking forward to that. But it’s good that it will be done soon. Arranging funerals is an interesting sales process; really slick, and not fun. But that’s another story for another day.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

