Great Election Logos and other thoughts

Yesterday was voting day. I voted, but for once didn’t do the research. Too much has been going on in life. And that meant I cheated and used a voting guide from the San Diego Free Press. They had a great logo: “Bad Politicians are elected by good people who don’t vote.” It is so true, almost no one voted yesterday. You can find them at: http://sandiegofreepress.org/

20140604-204036.jpg

Other brief good news. Kate is taking after her mother. She’s learned how to burn a grilled cheese sandwich and even improved on my burned cheese by doing both sides. Still needs to learn the perfect scraping technique but a few more sandwiches will give her lots of practice. Keep up the good work Kate!

I found a lost earring today. When I got sick a month ago, it happened fast. Started feeling bad at work. Went to my car and thought about calling home. Drove home and thought about getting off the freeway and calling for help. Made it home and immediately went to bed feeling bad. Several days later remembered the earrings; one was lost. And they were brand new pink flamingo earrings from the wild animal park. Oh well. But today, a miracle occurred. Sitting next to the toaster at work was my earring. So now I have a pair of earrings that makes me laugh.

Had an unexpected job interview today. Joined a mentoring program at work, mostly so I could meet some senior level people from other departments who could help me find a different job. Well my mentor, a chief engineer, has decided that the mentoring I need is help finding a new job. And with a couple of short email introductions; I now have job interviews inside Northrop. Amazing difference, 27 applications for internal jobs and I can’t make it through the automated sorting machines. My resume is too wierd; I’ve been the jack of all trades. Motto “Have Charge Number, Will Do Work”. So today one guy sent me a meeting notice for the interview. 10 minutes long, I think it went well. I hope it went well. Being a UCLA graduate is a good thing. No jobs at the immeditate time; but that’s ok because I’m leaving for a 6 week vacation in a few weeks. Next week, I have a second interview. Again; it got set up right after my mentor sent an email asking for it. Wow, that’s good connections. I’m lucky.

Mitzi it totally into cat treat time. She loves catfood. And she understands the phrase cat treat time. That means going outside, waiting a few minutes, and then coming back inside to like the plates. The cry “Sally, Sophie, Charrrliieee” brings 3 uptailed cats running into the kitchen. We had junk food for those cats today. Premium Canned Cat Food, don’t ask what is inside. Nice stinky pate; the cats all loved it. Here they are, chowing down dinner.

20140604-210629.jpg

Another week of drugs. Another week before going out in the sun. But I am showing progress. Am actually wearing shoes for the first time in a month. OK shoes is a nice description for the birkenstock sandals; but that is an improvement. For all of May, I was wearing flip flops. And even back at wok although technically they are prohibited. I was getting away with it because I had been on medical leave.

On the not so good side; I am working overtime at my request. The extra money will be nice and needed. Plus it earns me brownie points with my team as I get extra stuff done before a crush of work in July. But that’s less free time. And we need the money because of medical bills. Bob’s dad is still really sick. He’s a difficult alzhiemers patient who also needs lots of skilled nursing. His needs are way beyond anything the family can provide. So that means big bills for the immediate future. Bob and his mom are working really hard to take care of him even in the hospital. Bob also is worried about some unusual pains and will be tested for polyups or tumors on his kidney next week. So he may not be going on vacation this summer. But Kate and I will go no matter what. The time is just too hard to come by; I won’t get an opportunity like this for years. And Kate is growing up, in a year or so; she will be moving out of the house and it will be too late. But there is still time for lots to happen. And perhaps all will get resolved within the next week or too. I can be an optimist and dreamer. So I’ll dream about everything getting settled in the near future. Wish me luck.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Great Election Logos and other thoughts”

  1. Things will work out for everyone’s highest good….whatever that may be. If only you and Kate go, then it will be because you are to share a time together that will be like no other bonding time in your lifetime. Hopefully, everyone’s health issues will improve greatly. I will be sending many, many positive thoughts in your family’s direction. I’m so happy that your health is improving and you even feel up to overtime!! My goodness.

Leave a Reply

