Fire Pictures

Everyone has probably heard about the fires in San Diego.  Its been an interesting couple of days.  Not only really hot (100+ degrees with lows of 89 in the night) but windy with howling winds that sap the water from everything.  Add in a batch of fires and life becomes interesting.  At one point we were surrounded by 11 different fires– Carlsbad, Oceanside, Camp Pendleton; Fallbrook, Bonsall at old highway 395, Escondido, and San Marcos. And it looks like the worst is over for most of the fires.  The big concern is still the fire by Cal State San Marcos moving over the hill towards Escondido and Highway 15.

But overall; I’m lucky.  My house was in the middle.  We could see the plumes of smoke; but the winds kept the smoke away from our house.  There is still a layer of ash covering everything; it feels gritty.  My hair, eyes, face, and feet all feel dirty and the air hurts when I breath.  But it’s mild compared to places five miles away where people were evacuated.   I was able to get a couple of photos today of the smoke from the fire burning off of College Blvd and the San Luis Rey river.   Three miles as the crow flies from Gparent’s Lewis’s house or 5 miles of driving.

photo2 photo

 

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

