Zebra pen and other notes

Wow, for the first time in WEEKS, I feel alive. I know I’m going to be healthy again and soon. It’s a wonderful feeling. I’ve been on heavy duty antibiotics for the last couple of weeks and tomorrow I start a new set of antibiotics. Bronchitis is almost gone — only a little bit of a cough left and it is easy to breath. Cellulitus is getting better; but much slower. The expectation is that the second set of antibiotics will finally kill off the bacterial infection. Still have a swollen leg that needs to be propped up; but I’m getting medicine to help with the swelling and itching. HURRAHH!!

And best of all, I”m regaining an interest in all kinds of things. Made a skirt this week. Half of it was handsewn since I’ve had to prop a leg up. Wanted to make a flirty longer skirt with godets. Godets are those black triangles at the bottom of the skirt in the picture below. They add width at the bottom making the skirt flare. Originally the skirt was going to be all black. I was making up the pattern as I went along. Unfortunately the first time I tried to put a godet in the black skirt; everything got screwed up. Since everything was handsewn; it took forever. And since I wasn’t feeling great; my reactions were extreme. I threw the skirt into a bag and was going to throw it away. But then boredom got to me and I realized there was a nice piece of green fabric that would let me restart. So the black skirt got cut into large black triangles. Was making a six gore skirt; but only had enough black fabric to make 5 triangles. That meant sewing scraps into the sixth triangle. Hopefully no one will notice that it’s pieced. I’ll put that in the back. Still haven’t finished the skirt; need to get some safety pins to feed elastic through the waistband. I”m not satisfied with my work; but this will be a great skirt for travel. Made of rayon; it’s going to be wash and drip dry. Although I do need to Iron it at least once; making sure the seams lie flat. Will have to try this pattern again and then I’ll write it up and post it for you all to try.

20140514-091638.jpg

To draw the pattern, I needed a new tool to create digital drawings. So I got a new app for my IPAD — inkist. It looks like a lot of fun to learn and easy. A great way to practice drawing with a zebra pen on the IPAD. Now a zebra pen is a very nice expensive tool that Bob bought for me. He actually bought two and kept one for himself. It’s got a pen on one side and a little pointing / drawing tool for touch screens on the end. Usually I’m one who loses things. But in this case; Bob lost his pen. He’s been walking around for days muttering “where is that pen” and asking if anyone had used it. Well last night he found it. Only it’s not very usable anymore because it had been barbecued. Proof below.

20140514-092827.jpg

Over the last week, I’ve been enjoying watching television. Prior to that; I enjoyed sleeping 18 hours a day. But after a week or so; even sleeping becomes hard and TV becomes a great escape. Watched many episodes of the Tudors on Netflix and have been captivated by the both the women’s dresses and their hairstyles. I love fancy ballgowns and hairstyles; perhaps someday I’ll get a chance to wear a fancy dress like those in the movies. In this show, there were many fancy braided hairstyles. Kate cut her hair; so I can’t practice on her. But maybe; if I’m lucky she will practice on my hair. Here’s a photo of one of the braids.

20140514-093357.jpg

There are a couple of great lunar events over the next couple of weeks. First is a full moon tonight; the full flower moon. As always; it’s a wonderful feeling to sit outside and watch it rise; perhaps with a glass of wine. But the real event happens on Friday Night, May 23rd and Saturday morning, May 24th. There is going to be a new meteor shower that may just turn into a meteor shower. NASA is predicting several hundred meteors per hour and perhaps thousands per hour. It’s the start of the Memorial Day weekend, so camping spots will be at a premium. But if you can get to a place outside without lights; it’s well worth taking a watch. Hopefully there is no fog here in Southern California. And if anyone gets some amazing pictures — share them with me. We’ll try; but I”m not very skilled at night photos.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

