3 Tails up and other tales

Tonight Kat called the cats for dinner — Sally, Sophie, Charrrrliiee; Sally, Sophie, Charrrrliiee. They all came running for dinner with 3 tails up in the air. That’s power and it is useful. They all want their cat treat or tuna or whatever delicacy is on the menu. It is the one tool I have for getting the cats into the house. And it has been needed because Charlie has been testing his limits. He’s been escaping out windows and doors multiple times over the last few days. And every time it is the same; he gets outside and then panics–an “Oh Shit, where an I type moment”. At that point, if one calls him for dinner; Charlie happily comes running into the house and gets a good meal. Hope this is just spring fever and not a new trick for getting extra meals.

In other news; Liz is coming home for easter weekend. She’s excited; more accurately everyone is excited. Grandma gets to cook easter dinner; I’m broke after buying two unexpected plane tickets. I haven’t talked with her since then; but reports from others indicate she sounds much more chipper.

And Maggie is coming home sometime in May. That means I get to catch up on the gossip with her. Right now I only know snippets of what’s going on: picking a thesis topic, meeting with advisors, lining up research grants, being extravagant and buying a bike, and even sneaking off to Baltimore for a weekend with Josh. To be fair; he was working — it was a trip associated with his med school application. And the bike is transportation / exercise so one can’t complain. The funniest story I’ve heard about Maggie is from my mom. Evidently a friend of hers who wears a wig after going through Chemo; found some bugs in her wig. And she shipped them to Maggie so they could be identified. Now my mom’s friend is eagerly waiting for answers and might even be calling Maggie directly. I hope these bugs were not lice.

Poor Kate, now she just gets abused. SAT’s, CAT’s, STAR Testing, AP exams, and more; it seems this is test season for her. Everyone wants her to take yet another test and so there have been endless numbers of study groups. On the plus side, she can drive to them and thus neither Bob nor I have to chauffeur. She has been working hard; still playing golf; and going to school. On the other hand, she is the sneakiest of my three girls with respect to household chores. It seems that something is always going on when there might be work to do.

On Monday night, Bob and I stayed up to watch the lunar eclipse. I even got permission from work to come in late on Tuesday. Kate rolled her eyes at our doings “Mom wants to celebrate WHAT?”; but then she buckled down and made some fantastic lemon cupcakes. She’s a very good cake maker; if you ever get the chance to try her stuff, DO. It’s well worth the calories. Her cupcakes have flavor; unlike many of the ones bought in stores and even bakeries. Bob pulled together a great dinner and we spent the night outside. I realized I had never fully watched a lunar eclipse from beginning to end before. It was beautiful. Laying on cots, we watched the moon change phases and become red. There was an amazing amount of light even when the moon was fully obscured. The clouds would lightly drift by; looking like ghostly tendrils hiding the stars for a few minutes before leaving us.

Bob and Elle are doing well. I talk about them together because that’s how they spend most of their days; together. Every morning Bob goes out for a long walk with Elle and again in the evening. In between, she goes with him wherever possible. Running chores, taking care of our all basic necessities; it’s really nice to have someone home doing all that work. I feel very spoiled and lucky. For the last week; he’s been working on refinishing a couch. The wood frame looks really great. Soon we will have to face into the cushions. It turns out that foam has become very expensive. We are looking at hundreds of dollars to make six big cushions. I’m not sure what good alternatives are; perhaps reusing the existing cushions and put on a new cover. Nothing new; this would be the 4th covering put on the same cushion. It just feels wrong to reuse them again; but I don’t want to spend the money on new ones.

Over the last couple of days, I’ve learned how to use several new on-line systems. First was buying tickets with Skyscanner.com for Liz on monday. It went well, despite the two tickets. The crashed browser is probably my fault. I was overloading my computer and think I clicked the wrong button. So now I can trust buying the tickets for Europe through that service. And then last night I tried the free file with the IRS. Worked great; was able to file for an extension with no problem despite it being the 15th of april. This kills me; I started the taxes in February and have been almost done for weeks. Guess I’m trying to do too many things. This weekend they will get done, we need the refund for our trip to Europe this summer.

Well the coffee is all gone and work is waiting. Take care and talk with you later.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

