Fortunes and Airline Tickets

Liz called today, very blue. It’s been a really rough semester. Classes are hard, her roommate has a totally different schedule, and she’s been getting migraine headaches again. I’ve never heard her sound as run down as she did today on the phone. So we were extravagant and bought her a ticket home for this weekend. I can’t give her a hug from long distance and I can’t solve her problems. But we can let her know she is loved by buying a plane ticket. Everyone is delighted, especially American Airlines.

Yep, that’s right American Airlines is happy because I ended up buying two tickets for her. When I clicked purchase on the first ticket; the browser died. And I could find no record of any purchase made. Liz was on the phone; so of course, I had to buy another ticket. And because the tickets are non-refundable; I can’t get my money back. But I was able to get a credit for the second ticket. Even the reservation clerk agreed that something must have gotten screwed up since the same person can’t fly twice at the same time. So it’s double the happiness — Liz comes home now and she comes home again sometime in the future. I just didn’t know that I wanted to buy two tickets today.

Should have known that it was going to be one of those days. I have two different tarot deck apps on my IPAD–the druid oracles and the wildwood pack. Both have gorgeous pictures; done by the same artist Will Worthington. I love his work and enjoy playing with the virtual cards. So today I got the same card, Mama Bear and Mama Bear reversed. It had to be an interesting day given the conflicting messages. I’m connect by primal roots to root of earth and the emotion of a mother. Ferocious; I have to be careful to not be overwhelmed by primal forces. Put family first and enjoy the creative forces of the day. Remember how to nurture. Who knew the creative forces came from some unknown outside influences. Some would have have called these forces God.

I have strong powers today; so I’m using them to make Bob laugh. He didn’t realize until now that I had two tarot decks that I use for a daily fortune. Even after almost 35 years together, I can still surprise him. That is a good thing. And because tonight is a full moon lunar eclipse; it’s fitting the gods have influence. In fact; some religions are calling this the beginning of the end; the rhapsody or disaster described in revelations that begins with a blood moon–the first of four total eclipses which happen to fall on Jewish Holidays and begins during easter week. And if they are wrong; well almost any moon can be called a blood moon it’s an effect of the angles between the sun, earth, and moon. Since the holiday schedule is established based on moon cycles and there are eight more sets of 4 total eclipses in a row this century.

Here are the cards
From the Druid Oracles

20140414-212457.jpg
And from the wildwood deck

20140414-212520.jpg

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

