Time Change — Funny Story

In the kitchen we have a battery operated clock that automatically checks the time against an atomic clock.  On Saturday evening, I looked at the clock and briefly thought it was almost 8 PM.  Now Kate was a brand new driver; out with her friends and due home at 7 PM.  First thought; OMG, she’s late and where is she?  Being a mom and engineer, I can generate all kinds of horrible scenarios.  Ton’s of what if’s; none of them good.  After a few minute’s of panic, I realized that the clock had changed early and she was not late.

So then I was mean.  Wrote a note telling Kat to look at the clock and then come talk to me.  As it turns out she was 10 minutes late having misjudged how long the drive was between her friends house and home.  And I was not upset with her; although she too had a heart stopping moment looking at the clock.

And to followup — she’s been excellent at texting when she leaves or arrived.  It makes Bob and I feel better.  And I think what happened is that the clock changed at GMT mean time; which was 8 hours ahead.  And so the clock time changed at 6 pm our time.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

