Beauty in an urban area

This morning I was slothful and slept until a bit past 7 am. Missed breakfast with the family at Allen’s Alley; but went by myself which can be lots of fun. It’s been a rough week with the time change; that dammed alarm has been going off every morning in the middle of a vivid dream. And waking up from the dreams is hard. Add in lots of late nights and you can see why I’m a wretch. Plus it is supposed to be my off friday — instead I’m working both Friday and Saturday. I did have enough sense to volunteer before I got volunteered and probably get a day off later next week. That’s good. Bad news is that I had planned on finishing a couple of wax sculptures today in preparation for the bronze pour on the 23rd.

On Sunday the 23rd, we are having an open house. The purpose of this open house is to recruit new students — professional artists as well as full time students. I’m organizing it; asking friends to come do demos as well as hosting a bronze pour. Have invited many people and even have heard a few are coming. That includes some people who are interested in becoming students — HURRAHHHH!!!!! Still have to write the slide set; but have a long outline and took pictures last night at class. Here’s the flier

20140314-081823.jpg

Anyway, back to Allen’s Alley. For years I’ve noticed these weeds outside the restaurant. They are beautiful, lovely natural sculptures. And today I finally took pictures. And yes, I did play a bit with the images afterwards to make their beauty more pronounced. Only minor things, cropping and adjusting brightness / shadow type settings. First photo shows the glory of our day; unfortunately I’ll be spending it inside working. And then a couple shots of the weeds themselves. When you get in close, the colors of the seeds are brilliant.

20140314-082149.jpg

20140314-082210.jpg

20140314-082232.jpg

And with that, I”mm off to work. Have a great day.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

