1000 books and other small notes

A used book store closed permanently up in nevada city. My mom, living nearby was kind enough to bid on some science fiction books for me. Well, she won the silent auction. And now I’m the proud owner of about 1000 books. That is close to 50 boxes; a lot of old science fiction. Rumor had it that I had won authors between C and G, but there seem to be a few other people mixed into the book selection. On the plus side, one book I had wanted for years, “The marching morons” by Kornbluth was mixed into that set. On the bad side, Bob left the book up in Nevada City when he came home last Sunday. But my folks are coming down in a few weeks (Hurrahhh!!!!!!) and they promised to bring all the remaining books.

So I’ve reactivated the software book exchange at work and put up a note telling everyone that lots of science fiction was coming. Take lots of books, bring back a few if they must, and generally enjoy the reading. Haven’t heard anything; but the small 6 volume set of duplicate books by Louise Cooper (?) got carefully arrange on the top of the bookcase around my note. Someone will be checking out these books.

Read a fascinating article talking about stone henge today. Evidently there is a hypothesis that stone henge may have been a musical instrument. The type of stone used has the property of ringing when hit. When they tested the stones at stonehenge; they also rang. What a fascinating idea; building a bell tower that is hundreds of square feet in size. You can read about it at this article in the Atlantic journal.
http://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2014/03/are-stonehenges-boulders-actually-big-bells/284239/?google_editors_picks=true

We have a new driver in our house. Kate passed her driving test; got a really good score; and now is the proud possessor of a driver’s license. Haven’t worked out the details of when and why she gets to drive; but at least we’ve paid the insurance bill. On the first night out, she had to put gas into her car. It was 45 dollars and she was incensed at how much it cost. Welcome to the real world Kate.

The trip next summer is coming together. We’ve ordered a new passport for Kate. We’ve leased a car for July in France. We’ve got a house arranged in France although I’m not sure how the bill will get paid. And we’ve even got several potential cat and dog sitters lined up. Thank goodness for that; I’ve been worrying about the animals. Work knows I’m going to be gone for six weeks. And I’ve been listening to enough french music, that I’m starting to understand the lyrics. I do cheat and look up the english translations for the lyrics; internet is a wonderful tool. Google has this great translation tool. And if you know the artist name / song name; it’s possible to find the lyrics.

But the part of the vacation my mom is arranging sounds really exotic. OK, the original idea was to rent a really cheap house in Italy for a month; no car; and then visit cultural attractions. That morphed into a house in france on the most rural parts of Brittany through a cousin of bob’s cousin’s wife. And my folks wanted to visit southern france and perhaps spain. Well that part has changed as well. Instead we are going to Scotland via York, England. We spend a couple of days in York and then go to Stronoway, on the Isle of Lewis, in the Outer Hebrides. Mom found a great hotel, Solas. The owner is advising Mom on how to get there, how to arrange a salmon fishing trip, and how to leave via bus / ferry / train combination. We go from Stornoway through the Isle of Skye over to fort williams where we go whisky tasting. This gets followed by a trip to Edinburough and tickets to Tattoo and a grand finale of 3 days in London. Wow is all I can say. I’m excited. It sounds really exotic. I hope we get to see the northern lights while in scotland.

Bob and Elly returned home last Sunday night. Everyone is happy; we all missed our family members. Charlie and Elly have gotten back into tag teaming trouble. Just this evening, Charlie knocked to roll of paper towels off the counter and Elly picked it up. When she came trotting out of the kitchen with the roll in her mouth; Sophia started growling and hissing from my lap. Since the table is now moved next to the wall to prevent Charlie from jumping onto the china cabinet; there was a lot of space between Elly and Sophia. So Elly just stopped and stood still until Bob came and rescued her from the cat. It’s a wacky wild life I lead. And with that I”m going to leave. Having a 1000 new books is not enough; so I bought a couple more books via the nook last night. And those unread pages are calling.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “1000 books and other small notes”

Leave a Reply

