Iron Pour and Other things

For the last four days, Bob and Kate have been on vacation. They left early on thursday morning (oh way to dark in the morning) for Washington state. Taking Elly, they abandoned me for his brother. And since then; the constant question from other family members is how am I doing? is it too quiet at home? The answers to those questions and others are: doing fine; not too quiet; not alone since I have 3 cats and several fish to keep me company; and I’m keeping way to busy.

Yesterday was a prime example. Spent the morning working on a couple of electronics projects; realized I had to gather a few more supplies; left after taking care of the cats; went shopping for resistors, lithium batteries; and a second pair of hands. Followed this with an Iron Pour which is way cool. Here’s a couple pictures; no processing, haven’t even had the time to look at them since I didn’t get home until very late. My job was selling teeshirts and collecting donations. We did OK, don’t know how much I collected; but there was a wad full of bills in my pocket which I handed over to someone else. We decided (OK, I talked other people) into having an open house / orientation in March for the school. We need students and sending an orientation invitation to all the high schools within 50 miles is a good starting point. So I started getting the word out about our orientation as well to the iron pour participants. And I’m pleased to note that my log looks ok at first glance. It does appear to be an iron stick shaped object; but I can’t tell much more without doing some work. And that will be next weekend unless I’m working at the day job.

20140217-071340.jpg

20140217-071405.jpg

20140217-071429.jpg

The weekend wasn’t long enough for my projects. Other events this weekend included: building an electronic dice with LED’s. Getting a 2 way traffic signal with LED’s almost done. Hosting a dinner party where the main feature was the 25 gallons of soup. Well the volume may be exagerated a little bit; but my in-laws and Suzie went home with lots of left-overs. Then Suzie and I hit the town for a wild evening. We started at Lowes, followed it with wine tasting at 50 Barrels in Vista, and ended up going home before 9 pm. It was a good evening. But when you are used to getting up at 5 am; 9 pm seems very late.

Failed in one important task last night, taking out the trash. Was going to do so and as I opened the door to go outside; Charlie ran out into the garage. He’s not allowed outside; for one he’s a carrier for cat respiratory diseases and two; he’s scared to be outside. Having been a stray and I think having very hard times since we got him about 30% underweight; and finally he panics when outside. But on the other hand; he is curious out outside and he sees the other cats going outside. So last night when he streaked out the kitchen door, I hit the button for the automatic garage door. The noise scared him; he skidded to a stop in the middle of the garage and immediately raced back inside at full speed. At that point, I closed the door; fed the cats; and decided I wasn’t going to take the trash out. It can wait another week before getting picked up.

Tonight I get Kat. Hurrah!!!! Perhaps she can help with some of the household things that seem to take way too much time. Of course, she has homework; school; and a great ability to avoid work. We’ll do something fun next weekend — just the two women of the house. Suzie is already talking about movies. She loves animated films; I don’t. So guess I had better be proactive and find something else to watch or do.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

