Long time, no post

Long time no post.  And if I don’t get one soon, Liz and / or Maggie will be asking why.  They like their gossip fix, stories of Charlie, and the reassurance that home still exists.  Plus, the longer one goes without the daily exercise of writing, the harder it becomes.  So what have I been doing to fill my free time when not blogging?  Oh, the usual not much beyond the usual trying to do way too much and not really succeeding at anything type life style—panicking about a class, signing up for other classes, thinking about taxes, reading too many novels, playing with wax, cleaning cupboards and other miscellaneous things.

My first class in C programming for artists starts this Thursday.  It’s going to be really a great class; but I’m not ready and I’m convinced that those artists will find out that I’m a programming fraud.  I don’t feel like an expert; it’s been years since I’ve had to do serious full time programming.  Most of my time recently has been taken up with reading test cases (boring) and other types of paperwork.  The basic plan is solid – we are going to do a project making an LED light box.  There are kits and we can start with basics.  But I know that someone will ask that really hard question.  And I’m not a hardware person and only an ok programming person.  My co-workers all think I’m crazy to worry about this class; but I want it to succeed.  And it’s an interesting journey to learn so much about electronics / hardware / led’s / Arduino boards and of course, relearning about C programming.

In addition to the class I’m teaching, I’m also taking a fantastic class on sculpture.  Think I’ll learn a lot about making an accurate representation of a human head.  And then next is the full body.  Think I want Bob as my model, although the girls aren’t happy with the thought.  Have also been playing with lots of wax, making some interesting small animals.  Unfortunately, Charlie also likes wax, so he helps remodel them.  Right now I have a great cat sculpture with lots of puncture wounds, no more ears, and a mangled tail.  Thanks Charlie.  I was hoping to finish the figure for an iron pour in a few weeks.  But at this point, I’m not sure if I will get anything finished in time.

And then there is paperwork and taxes.  Liz an ; Mags – if you want me to fill out FAFSA for you and do your taxes, please scan and send me your W2’s – those are the forms sent by your employers to your residence.  We did receive the form from Penn State which I’ll mail to you.  I want to do the taxes because the refund from mine will pay for the plane tickets to Europe this summer.  Hurrah.  But FAFSA paperwork is the ugliest task around.  It takes multiple passwords and lots of specialized knowledge.  I don’t think there is any way that a kid could fill them out without lots of help.  And if a college student doesn’t get them filled out; then no financial aid.  But having done it now for a few years in a row; I’m fast.  It’s only a few hours of work.

What else has been going on—novels; lots and lots of novels.  Anything to avoid doing work.  In our joint nook account, Liz has a bunch of Alien in the House books from Gini Koch.  I’ve gotten hocked on this series which is a real kick ass type heroine with good friends and lots of problems.  Modern Chick Lit.  And I’ve been reading probably to avoid doing work like lesson plans, writing novels, and doing taxes.

Now work calls, so I’m publishing the update.  Hope everyone is doing well.   Still having fun at work pulling together the doggerel ditties.  Last week I had six pages of rhymes.  This week its limericks.  You would think the bosses might get sick of this and actually assign me something else to do.  But no, I got stuck with even more tasks yesterday.  And most amazing of all, not a single recipient of the doggerel has said a word.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

