Six word story

Day one of doggerel production went well at work. Managed to write my reports in rhyme; bad rhyme at that. Wonder how long it’s going to take before anyone notices. Next round will be the 6 word stories. Last night, I was awake at 2 am like I am most mornings. There is a theory called second sleep, discovered by linguists and historians. It’s an amazing scientific discovery; one found by people reading books from the medieval time period such as the Canterbury Tales asking what is this second sleep mentioned throughout the stories. The basic theory states that humans before widespread electricity was available; would sleep in two shifts. Most adults would get in the middle of the night for an hour or so. And once we had an industrial society; physicians started recommending people should be sleeping through the entire night. You can look it up on the web.

My take on it is that people have this pattern more deeply engrained in their genes than others. Bob sleeps through the night, rarely waking up. Me, I’m up every night at 2 am. And I believe my mom suffers from the same problem. It used to cause me much grief as I lay in bed worrying about being awake. But a few years ago, I started accepting this as a gift of quiet time. Anything can be done at this time if it involves NO LIGHTs and either mental games or physical exercise. It’s amazing how much better life is when you accept what is given to you. Last night, there were almost no sounds at that time, no bright lights outside, and a fog that masked much of the moon. It was beautiful. The only noise were some dogs barking. So I wrote a 6 word story about it.

Two Dogs Barking. One. None. Coyotes?

As normal for Friday mornings, we all ended up at Allan’s alley. Since I have trouble waking up before 6 am, Bob and Kate left before me. Got there to find that my usual breakfast had been ordered, although Bob was trying to play mental games with me — got you the surprise delights instead of the usual. Haha. Alisha, the owner, was watching out for my interests. It’s nice to have a familiar place; we’ve been going this restaurant for over 25 years. We look to see if the other friday morning patrons are there or not; it seems wrong when they don’t show up. And I know that other people count on seeing us there; when I walk in late it’s noticed. Sometimes I even get teased although this morning was merciful with none. Maybe because I was only 15 minutes late, not 30 or 45.

WEll it’s off to work.
Wish me luck with the rhyme.
It’s doggerel, not pork
That I produce with my time.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

