6 word peer reviews — For sale: doctoral degree, never used

Today while browsing the web at lunch; I came across an article about the 6 word peer reviews.  And the one at the top “For sale: doctoral degree, never used” caught my fancy especially since I was talking to Maggie not long afterwards.  Evidently there has been some sort of competition on twitter to get the best one.  I can’t find the reference that pointed me to this list; but there were some doozies on the list:

  • You didn’t cite my paper: reject
  • Let’s pretend I don’t know you
  • Author made all required revisions. Reject
  • For sale: doctoral degree, never used
  • My anecdote beats your controlled study
  • Statistically significant different from actually significant

For those that don’t know what the 6 word competition is; it began evidently with a challenge to Earnest Hemingway to write a 6 word story.  According to the legend on wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Six-Word_Memoirs Hemingway’s six-word story read: “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.”

It’s quite a story when you think about it; sad.  I don’t want to know the details.  But after my conversation with Mags, started to think about my day and describing it in 6 words:

reject! you actually think it’s ok?

What this refers to is an endless task — reading other peoples work and telling them if it is good or not.  I’ve been doing this for months, it seems like an endless list of things to read.  And I’m very good at finding errors; others call it the job security plan.  The hope has been if I find enough problems; management would decide to have someone else do the task.  But that’s not reality; the reward for doing a thorough job has been more reviews.  It’s so boring, work never ends–another 6 word description for this task.  It gets addictive; everything in six.  But tomorrow; I’ll try writing all the reviews in rhyme, bad rhyme at that.  Isn’t it called doggerel?  Maybe that will get me assigned some new work.  And if not, it will be an interesting challenge to write defects in poetry.  For example

  • Your shall is wrong;
  • the test not strong;
  • you need to change;
  • or the results remain deranged.

By the way, the following definition comes from Wikipedia.  It seems the perfect thing for me to be writing at work

Doggerel is a derogatory term for verse considered of little literary value. The word probably derived from dog, suggesting either ugliness, puppyish clumsiness, or unpalatability (as in food fit only for dogs). “Doggerel” is attested to have been used as an adjective since the fourteenth century and a noun since at least 1630.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doggerel

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

