At the bar and some new toys

Tonight, Kat went to visit some friends, so Bob and I took Elly out for the evening. We ended up at Mother Earth, the local brew tasting place where the worst possible scenario is we have to walk home. Big deal since it’s less than a half mile from home. Elly had a wonderful time; she had a bully stick as a treat. But one of her friends was quick and ended up with the stick. Elly looked shocked but being the good dog she is, didn’t make much of a fuss. Molly at last glance was eating this treat as fast as possible. She at least was happy.

20140119-212256.jpg
Overall a successful end to a nice day. Earlier, I had done some recreational shopping and got new toys. Files and dremel accessories. For those of you unfamiliar with dremel’s (also known as rotary tools); these are a wonderful hand held electric device that can be used for grinding, cutting, polishing small details in wood or metal. I’m using it with metal. The files are used to get the big pieces off first. You might say, I’ve become a cheap tools junky. It’s fun to go shopping at Harbor Freight. I was able to get a 249 piece set for only 19.99. Individual pieces at Home Depot are a dollar to multiple dollars depending on the piece. And with my level of metalworking skills, cheap is good. I’m hard on my new toys. Anyway, this toolset has so many pieces and I’m not sure how to use most of them. What’s the difference between the black, red, and green grinding stones. How does one use polishing paste? Where do you use the sanding paper versus the metal brushes? Guess I’ll have to go online and find a manual.

Unlike the kids, I had to go to work yesterday. And it was hot. I moved from the coldest spot where the AC was turned on continuously to one where the heat is dispensed. So even though the rest of the building got AC and the temperature was over 80 degrees yesterday outside (and this is mid January), we had non stop heat. Ugly, dry, dust filled heat that caused coughing and watery eyes. I even filled a facilities request over the heat. Please give me back the cold air. I’ll gladly go back to wearing gloves and an angry birds stupid looking cap all day long. Don’t want to go in this morning; am not looking forward to another day of watery eyes on top of not enough coffee. We forgot (all of us collectively) to get milk at the store. No one worried about it until this morning when I discovered there was barely enough for one dash in a cup of coffee. So I guess I have to leave soon–if I want to buy a cup on the way to work and still make a 9 am meeting.

20140121-072815.jpg

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

