Collection of Links and follow up on a tuna coated cat

Yesterday progress was made. Although there was boredom at work as I read through pages and pages of tedious numbers. But after work, I got to do my second job getting ready to teach. So last night I created a meet up group to advertise my FIRST class at the California sculpture academy. In this class, I get to teach artists computer programming. We get to build an LED light sculpture as the class project. Of course, before teaching the class, I’ve had to (1) buy a computer and set it up as a window’s 7 machine; (2) learn a new programming language environment (arduino); (3) learn some new skills like soldering; and (4) figure out how to teach programming where I don’t know if the students have computers. And since the academy doesn’t have a computer lab; we’ll be learning C code using pencil and paper. So now you can see the advertising at two different websites.
http://www.meetup.com/California-Sculpture-Academy-Meetup/events/159555592/?a=ea1_grp&rv=ea1&_af_eid=159555592&_af=event
http://www.californiasculptureacademy.com/classes/

Here I am, an older woman, dreaming about new jobs and opportunities. Not only teaching but getting to dabble in a new field–that of bronze foundry. I find it amazing. And then I read the newspapers or watch Jon Stewart and see that as a woman, my rights to determine my future are being taken away on a daily basis all over the country. One horrifying story was about a woman who died and was pregnant. So the state of Texas has decided that her body must be maintained on life support to incubate the fetus.
http://www.nytimes.com/2014/01/08/us/pregnant-and-forced-to-stay-on-life-support.html?src=me&ref=general

And Jon Stewart does a funny skit about how various groups want to restrict the right of their employees from even having an opportunity to buy birth control. Its very funny; the principle behind it is very scary. We have many employers (like Hobby Lobby and the Catholic Church) who want to define what health care their employees are allowed or not. Because of course, these people know what’s right for others. I don’t like it. It seems like backwards progress.
http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/mon-january-6-2014/sisters-act

On a final funny note, the tuna covered cat still has a bedraggled look. After getting coated by tuna, Elly decided to help clean him with an overall licking. So now we have a dog slobber and tuna coated cat.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

