A Dog Party! A big dog party!

Bob, Liz, and I took Elly to the dog beach in Del Mar today. That’s a lot of fun, there are so many happy excited dogs. Everywhere one looks, there are dogs running, swimming, chasing each other, picking up each other’s balls, and in general, having great time. Everytime I go there, the lines from the book Go Dog Go “Where are they going? Up the tree, Up, Up, It’s a Dog Party, a Big dog party” come into my mind. Now the words may be a little bit off, it’s been 15 years since I last read that book, but still I remember those lines. And a big dog party it was.

20140104-164518.jpg
Elly is one of the dirtiest dogs on the beach. She likes to go soak in the ocean and then roll on the beach. Everyone thinks, she’s so cute laying in the waves. But when she comes out on the beach and rolls, the commiseration from others and the general relief that this is not their dog begins. I swear she must put on at least 10 pounds in sand for every visit.

20140104-164732.jpg
It’s a great place to take lots of photos. Got some arty photos of dogs at the beach as well as a few snaps of Bob and Liz. There was a Irish Wolfhound at the beach. I had never seen one before and yes, now I can validate these are very tall dogs. The one today was probably twice as tall as Elly. He was tall, lanky, and wet. Got an interesting picture of his face.

20140104-165151.jpg

20140104-165217.jpg

20140104-165225.jpg

20140104-165240.jpg

20140104-165252.jpg
At the end, we had a tired sandy dog. She learned to swim today and spent much time practicing. I think Elly was proud of her new skill. But she also managed to swallow a lot of salt water. And that led to some problems on the way home. While driving on the freeway, we started hearing shrieks from Liz in the backseat “No Elly, Stop Elly, EWWWWWWWW!” Elly was vomiting over Liz in the backseat. Luckily we had lots of towels, they all got dirty. And the smell was bad, especially since it was combined with the remnants of skunk oder. Thankfully Liz and the towels were able to catch all the residue, so my car is clean. But often a great trip to the park ends either with screaming kids or sick kids or sick dogs. A few bad minutes on the way home won’t stop us from taking the dog back to the beach.

20140104-165837.jpg

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

