Skunk Infused Dog

Brindejon farm is a dog paradise, lots of places to run, interesting smells, and many different types of animals. Yesterday, Elly found a dead skunk. Interesting smell, she decided to roll on her back across this dead skunk, giving her a decided odor. And then she came home proud of herself as if saying “Look Dad, I found some new perfume”. She was a little surprised when everyone wanted nothing to do with her and when she got kicked outside. And Elly did help choose the afternoon activity for Bob and I–tomato baths.

First step, visiting the local store. Kate was happy, she got some more driving practice. There, we debated if 2 gallons of tomato juice would be enough before returning back to the farm. Then the show started with Elly getting doused in tomato juice. This was followed by shampoo and more water. Repeat multiple times. Elly was not happy.

20131229-083916.jpg

20131229-082750.jpg

20131229-082729.jpg

In the meantime, Sadie my parents dog, was intently watching the proceedings from a safe distance beyond the porch.

20131229-082801.jpg

20131229-082816.jpg

Eventually the process was done, sort of clean dog

20131229-082709.jpg

20131229-083851.jpg

And last night, she slept very soundly after her adventures. And the message for today “STAY AWAY FROM DEAD SKUNKS”

20131229-084712.jpg

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

