Solstice and new beginnings

Yesterday was the first day of freedom after several (or more than several) soul sucking weeks of too much work. Leaving at 7:30 in the morning and not returning until after 8 pm doesn’t leave much time for anything. And I’m too tired to do anything creative like write blog posts. But the end result is fantastic — happy bosses and 2 weeks off from work. Plus, all the kids came home for a few days, so we get to play together as a family.

And what did I do with my first day of freedom and a family at home–abandoned them for the day. Went out the fallbrook to work on some sculptures in the morning; followed by lunch and a solstice celebration with friends. But my family likes to spoil me, so I came home to a great party, a fantastic dinner cooked by Kate, a fire and s’mores afterwards, and getting to work with Liz on a new jigsaw puzzle. We feasted like gods and played like them as well. For the second year in a row, I had a magical solstice celebration.

The labyrinth walk was joyful and beautiful. Four of us met in La Jolla at a place that overlooks the ocean. The sun was shining and light sparkled off the rocks, grass, trees, and ocean. There were a couple of kids running around and another woman walking her dog. All felt calm and peaceful. Because the sun was low, the shadows off the rocks changed in size depending on the angle of the rock rows. As I walked the labyrinth, the possibilities for this upcoming year seem fantastic. I get to teach my first class in programming for artists, a new cubicle at work means I’ll get more exercise walking stairs, and I have some wonderful friends with whom I can plan fun events. My family is thriving and I feel blessed with lots of love. It was a good moment.

As always, I took some pictures at this event. I liked how the shadows played on different structures, especially the contrast between the window version and real version of the stairs. One rock in particular looks like a brain, lots of craggily structures. I wonder what that rock feels or thinks about life as it anchors one corner of the labyrinth. Do rocks even have any emotions? Who knows; but on warm sunny december afternoons, anything seems possible.

20131222-095110.jpg

20131222-095126.jpg

20131222-095135.jpg

20131222-095143.jpg

20131222-095153.jpg

20131222-095201.jpg

20131222-095212.jpg

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Solstice and new beginnings”

  1. Lovely writing, Robine. What a day you had to celebrate the solstice!!! You are so very blessed, but you have created this world and wonderful experiences for yourself. Good job! Thanks for sharing the labyrinth pictures. I saved them to display on my desktop. Will always bring happy memories of a wonderful day back to me whenever I see them. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

