Some scenes from Port’s O Call

20131216-064930.jpg

20131216-064511.jpg

Have been working way too many hours — those 50+ work weeks are killers. Add in one event per weekend and it leaves me feeling overwhelmed and tired. Hence no good blog posts; there’s no energy or time left for writing stories. I don’t know if I always got this tired or its a sign of old age. But the stories are backing up and I need to make some time for the writing. So today, we’ll revisit Port’s O’Call in San Pedro.

Port’s O Call is a great place for taking pictures. Next to the Los Angeles Harbor in San Pedro, there tourist type attraction has two sides–the gritty fish market and the pretty upscale shopping section. Turns out that Bob and I had always gone to opposite sides. His parents used to visit the fish market and buy stuff to eat at the outside tables there. My folks went to fancy side where we wandered around, bought trinkets, and went to fancy restaurants. The fish market side isn’t a clean, new, or fancy; but it has a lot of life. We were there early in day; good for taking pictures but deserted. As we were leaving, the crowds were descending for lunchtime where you can buy a whole fish and have it cooked on the grill in front of you. The food both looked great and smelled good. Someday I’m going to have to actually try the food. Perhaps next spring

This is the entrance; it looks ok. But once you walk through those doors, it becomes a different world with wooden floors from the pier, lots of small stands, and many bright colors. Tables abound everywhere and I can see that getting a seat even on a shared table could be difficult. I like the colors and shapes. Lots of small shops selling everything bad — fried fish, plastic lei’s, huge margarita’s, beer, and more. But irresistible to everyone even the birds.

There was one seagull that I tried to photograph. As I moved closer, the bird scooted away. Eventually got a shot of the bird flying away. The sequence of pictures was captured using an IPAD and only minor editing. I’m amazed at how many great pictures can be taken with this simple point and shoot camera. The only setting I can control is the focal point which does allow some variation in lighting and the depth of field. Of course, since I’m always experiementing with this camera, the IPAD is almost out of disk space. And managing all the photos is a problem. It looks like the only way to remove all the pictures is one by one. And I’ve got over 2,500 pictures so that’s a lot of clicks. And many of them are from port’s o’call. A few are below.

Work calls and I don’t have time to finish today. So enjoy the pictures below and I’ll talk more later.

20131216-072247.jpg

20131216-072232.jpg

20131216-072205.jpg

20131216-072149.jpg

20131216-072130.jpg

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

