Lazy minute in a busy day

This morning I drank one too many cups of coffee while watching a little finch eat persimmons. This bird was hanging upside down on the ripe fruit, determined to get those really sweet juicy bits at the end of the fruit. As always, we didn’t pick all the fruit off the tree; leaving a lot of for the local wildlife. Possums, raccoons, rats, birds, and one memorable night, we saw coyote up in the tree. Now the coyote was NOT after the fruit, but after the possum eating the fruit. But a hungry coyote will also eat the ripe fruit which falls from the tree. And I’ve seen entire flocks of crows descend into this persimmon tree, cawing loudly to announce their presence. They drive the cats crazy, so many birds to catch and all of them too big and too mean.

Watching the little bird this morning helps me get ready for work in a good mood. I”m tired, the results of spending way too many hours working on a wax sculpture. I’ve got deadlines, I want the piece finished for Christmas. So dropping it on the floor last night was not good. Not only did I have to repair the piece, but it’s not as smooth or finished as it should be. That means more work at the other end — it’s a lot harder to sand metal than wax. But last night was the deadline. It takes days to make creramic shell over the wax and then just a few hours to pour the metal. Lots of time to clean up and finish the piece. I’m getting help with the shelling process from friends at the California Sculpture Academy; without which my work would not be finished. As long as I pour the metal before christmas, I have have a wonderful present. And the help of others is essential, hence the late night last night and a brief respite this morning. Unfortunately work calls and I’m going to be late. So I can’t watch the finch finish his breakfast. But I did get to drink that extra cup of coffee.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

