comet ison and other small thoughts

Comet ISON is dead, long live it’s memory….at least for those of you who might have gotten a glimpse of it last month. Evidently, the path for this comet of the century got to close to the sun, so the ball of ice fell apart. We all need to remember what our mothers told us about playing with fire. I heard that it was spectacular; but didn’t get to see it. This fall in Vista, we’ve had fog almost every morning. Not always a full sky of clouds, but a row of clouds along the eastern edge of the sky. Great for morning sunrise watchers, bad for ISON comet viewers.

But don’t despair; there are still some celestial wonders to enjoy. Last night was the new moon, so there are wonderful dark skies. The Geminids meteor shower happens on the 13th and 14th of december. This is often considered one of the best showers, strong with lots of meteors and dependable. While meteors happen all night long, the best hours for viewing will be early morning after the moon sets. That’s because on December 17th, there is a full moon called by various cultures the cold moon, the peach moon, the oak moon, the long night moon, and my favorite from Papua New Guinea the rain and wind moon. We have the winter solstice on December 21st, I might go to a labyrinth walk down in San Diego to celebrate. It sounds like fun, a chance to have a bit ritual with some very good friends. We can celebrate the shortest day of the year and the birth of a new year. I want to go; we’ll see what the month holds in terms of distractions that keep me from them.

Here the weather is great, in Penn State, where Maggie is, the weather calls for freezing fog today and ice pellets later this week. What evocative terms; sounds really cold and miserable to walking around outside. While here we have lovely clear skies, sort of cool nights, and delicious possibility for a little bit of rain, a treat here in San Diego. Proof positive, here’s the snapshot from wunderunderground. Maggie–enjoy knowing what your missing.

20131204-072811.jpg

Tonight — I’m making lava cakes. On Sunday, I made ganache. The recipe is simple — chocolate and cream mixed together. Making a ganache good enough for making truffles is hard and I failed. My ganache won’t stay in a ball form long enough to roll it in powered sugar or cocoa powder. But if you make a rich chocolate cake batter, they can be turned into lava cake cupcakes. One spoonful of cake batter, a spoonful of ganache in the middle, topped with another spoonful of cake batter; baked; and served warm with frosting. You have a very decadent chocolate feast. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

If they are really good, then I’ll freeze them and take them to work as part of a celebration for moving cubicles. This is another case of the big fake out — we are all so excited about moving from our brand new nice single person cubicles into the older 4 person cubicles. Its been lonely in my nice quiet spot right in the corner. Missed not having people walk by the cubicle every 5 minutes and having some new people to talk with will be good. I’m sure it will help work productivity. If the cupcakes are too good and get eaten, then I’ll have to take donuts. That’s OK, Danny’s donuts just got nominated as having the 6th best donut with it’s blueberry donuts in the country. Why am I worrying about food for a cubicle move — well last month we had a potluck. And I promised any extra money from the potluck would go to donuts or bagels depending on how much was left over. Actually we had a deficit so I paid extra for the potluck. But the people at work don’t know that and everyone is looking forward to donuts. Cupcakes would be an OK substitute.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

