Monday Blues

It’s hard to go back to work after a great vacation. Everyone felt that way. I tried to psych myself out by telling myself “It’s Fun. I like to go to work”. And the daily horoscope was a 9 out 10 so it should have been ok. But it didn’t work. Just a blah day. Even Maggie said it didn’t work for her. And Bob said he had a temper tantrum over helping fix his parents bathroom fan. It’s an ugly task with lots of backseat commentary. At work, I discovered that slices of toast are more expensive than bread for a sandwich. It’s 45 cents per ounce if I had gotten some meat to go with the bread and was a dollar a slice for the plain bread.

But the worst of all was discovering that everything got screwed up and we don’t have a booth at the maker faire. They did give me some free admission codes and a promise of a great spot next year. And it does mean I don’t have to work really hard this week putting stuff together. And I do think we have started thinking through a great display for school visits next year. So not all is lost.

This evening to celebrate the start of a new week, Bob, Kat, and I went out for dinner. It was very irresponsible and we all had a nice time. Somewhat subdued as all relaxed after our first day back at work. It was a great vacation and all were mourning it’s passing.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

