Interesting Links

This is going to be a very long hard week. My bosses agreed that I can work as many hours as I can stand, preloading the 80 hour workweek into this week. It’s a good deal, I’ll get to take off most of next week — working only monday before going to the airport and picking up Liz. Mag’s will beat her, coming in on Saturday in Los Angeles. So Bob gets to go up to LA, get his parents, wait a few hours, and then get the young adult who used to be a kid.

So instead of writing longer essays, I’m going to share a few special links with you all. First is a fantastic project, creating a light cube. I want to build one of these. But I’m going to start with a smaller 3×3 version. Take a look at the video’s, it’s an amazing piece of engineering — hardware and software combined.
http://www.hownottoengineer.com/projects/rgb-led-cube.html

Next link involves a great illustration about the power of public transportation. Click on the picture, I find it a great illustration. Wish it were easier for me to take public transportation. The problem is 20 – 30 minute one way drive versus 2 hours each way bike / bus / train / walking commute. While I was more tired (with 4 hours commuting and a very early getting up time); I was also healthier. http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2013/11/the-case-against-cars-in-1-utterly-entrancing-gif/281615/

The last link is much more disturbing. Basically it describes how our current system of economic rewards matches the feudal system. Worth reading or at least looking at the pictures.

http://www.economicpopulist.org/content/americas-growing-income-inequality-problem-5339?google_editors_picks=true

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

