Why Bob came to lunch

Yesterday, Bob came out to Rancho Bernardo and had lunch with Suzie and me. It was an extraordinary event, the 20 some-odd miles has been too big an obstacle for a just a last minute lunch date. And I’m not even sure if I invited him or he invited himself. We all had fun and it was a good break in what had been a dramatic morning.

Bob had been working on building a new walkway and trash area. He was digging in the dirt when his shovel hit the main water line into the house. First clue was the shovel being knocked out of his hands and into his face. Next clue was the 30 foot geyser of water shooting up from the ground. Elly was delighted while Bob’s first words are not repeatable. First stop, the garage to pick up some tools. Next stop, out to the box where the water hookup for our properties is located. Got the box open, cleared out lots of dirt and leaves only to see the meter spinning rapidly around in circles. Tick,tick,tick,tick…..so fast that he could barely hear each tick.

In the meantime, Elly is having a wonderful time diving into the mud crater created by the 30 foot geyser shooting water over the house. Dive into the hole and out comes SLIME DOG. Race around barking with happiness while Bob goes back to the garage for more tools while muttering unmentionable words. Bob wondered if there was anyone to call, but quickly realized he had to get the water main turned off. 15 minutes or what seemed like hours later, the water did get turned off. And then it was time for damage control.

First problem was Slime Dog, a very happy animal rolling in the mud and water. An ugly mess for whom the hose didn’t make much change. She likes showers better than hoses and slime holes better than showers. She liked the mud hole, but Bob insisted — we have to have a clean dog. Got Elly cleaned up a bit and into the Kitchen. Now she’s learned how to open the gate from the Kitchen into the rest of the house unless it is fully closed and locked. Bob did remember to get this done since he didn’t want Slime Dog wandering through the house. It could make for some very dirty beds; Elly likes to sneak into a bedroom for a nap.

Next was assessing the damage and fixing the problem. It was about this point where I first heard about the water problems. Asked if I should come home early from work. Somehow during this conversation, lunch was mentioned and before I knew it; Bob was coming out to join us for Indian Food. And Suzie was lucky I found a 20 dollar bill in my purse (emergency stash) because Bob left without paying. Otherwise she would have been paying for both. While paying is normally not a problem; I had lost my debit card last week and have been restricted to only cash purchases. That was a stupid thing, the last place I remembered the card had been jeans pockets while getting gas. And when I couldn’t find the card several days later, it got canceled. Of course, Bob found it about an hour later in the laundry.

But I digress — back to the water main and clean up. Bob got the pipe fixed. We now have a big several foot wide and deep mud hole in the backyard. Elly has to be let out there occasionally since that’s her toilet area. But every time she gets let out, she digs more. And that means we have a dirty dog in our house.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Why Bob came to lunch”

  1. Life is full of surprises, isn’t it? All you can do is go with the flow (no pun intended) and make the best of it, which you certainly did by writing a very interesting and entertaining account of the incident. My sympathies to Bob. What an undertaking!

Leave a Reply

