Fancy Dinners, Movies, and more

Over the last few weeks, I’ve been rescuing fair maidens, battling evil priests, and slaying dragons. Ok, the slaying dragons is not true, but rescuing young women from evil priests did happen. It’s hard, mentally and emotionally exhausting work and I’m not ready to talk about it. This weekend was great, no high stress items. The big issues were amusing myself while not making too much of a mess. Went to two movies — Ender’s game and Thor 2. Both were good movies although I enjoyed Thor more with all the great shots of a half naked young man. Ender’s game was just too sad and too creepy with all the kids being used for military purposes. It gave me nightmares. Thor was more fun, after all it had been a comic book and had no pretensions of having first been a novel.

So today, for fun, I decided to cook a great dinner. Ham, baked vegetables, butternut squash, homemade biscuits, and cranberry applesauce. All was good, especially the applesauce. That’s my own recipe and it probably could be a winner at the local or state level fairs. Everyone loves it, so I’ll share the recipe. Bob was pleased, he likes a fancy dinner with no work or dishes. And tonight was my treat for him. Usually he treats me to a good show by doing dinner and dishes after dinner. It’s hard to be unhappy when spoiled that way.

Cranberry Apple Sauce
12 oz package of fresh cranberries
1 cup sugar
1 cup water
4-8 apples, peeled and diced.

Put all the ingredients together into a sauce pan. You need at least 4 apples although more is great. I’ve used up to 10 apples, but generally find 6-8 is the best number. Cook on low heat, covered, for about 30 minutes. Occasionally stir the mixture. As the apples cook, they will start falling apart. And the cranberries will pop and dissolve into jam. When the mixture has the texture of lumpy,thick applesauce, it is done. Serve warm or cold. Good with the main course or add whipped cream and serve as a dessert.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Fancy Dinners, Movies, and more”

  1. Wow jealous. I had undercooked whole wheat spaghetti, overcooked chicken, microwaved broccoli, and off brand store spaghetti sauce, all mixed in one bowl for dinner tonight. PS-I owe you a phone call. And I turn in my essay tomorrow night, so be ready…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

