spa day

On Saturday, it was a spoil Kat day.  In honor of her birthday, Suzie and I took her to the glen ivy spa.  She’s wanted to go ever since I took her sisters and grandmother 4 years ago.  But since no one under the age of 16 can attend, Kat had to wait a few years.

At the spa, we did almost everything.  No one wanted to go into the mineral pools, they smelled like sulfur and were crowded.  But we did try the roman spa’s (an inside jacuzzi), the salt water pools, the lounge pool, and the grotto.  Kate liked it, I don’t.  It’s slimy and misty underground.  You go down underground in an elevator.  After walking in, someone paints you with green slime that smells like Eucalyptus.  What a horrible job, spending the day in a damp dark grotto painting people with slime.  And these young ladies were smiling and trying to make everyone feel special.  There was a bridal party down there, they got shushed a few times.

Actually there were several bridal parties who expected that everyone should treat them as special since they were celebrating.  But the interesting thing is that most people at this spay were celebrating something special, a marriage, good friends, anniversaries, birthdays, or whatever.  And everyone could be considered special.  Being part of  bridal party does not excuse rudeness.  I really wanted to say something to the young lady that took almost all of the shared bench in the locker room for her stuff.  While she was sitting there tapping on her phone and reading an IPAD book (does one really need these things in a bathroom / locker room area?); about 20 other people were trying to get to their lockers, balancing on one foot while putting on clothes.   It was very rude and she was totally unaware of social niceties.

Learned something interesting.  All those muscles that had relaxed during a day in hot water and various “treatments” contracted at night. OW!  Was surprised and commented on it the next morning.  Kate said “Oh yeah, that happens all the time”  Why, we don’t know.  But what I find surprising is that a kid who has never been to a spa before knows this stuff while I don’t.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “spa day”

  1. Sorry you had some unpleasant experiences at Glen Ivy. Did you paint yourselves with the red clay mud? Back in September when I visited Glen Ivy, I had a most remarkable time and relaxed like I hadn’t done in many many years. Also, my skin and hair were incredible for a couple of weeks after. Did you walk the labyrinth at the entrance? That was a wonderful experience, walking it barefoot in the hot sun. Anyway, Happy Birthday to Kat!

Leave a Reply

