Moonlight Shows

Saw Tommy last night at the Moonlight Amphitheater. Bob and I got really lucky with the weather, warm afternoon, cooler evening with a clear sky and lots of stars. Since the theater has been redone, it’s a lovely place to have a picnic dinner. And the whole experience was made better because I’ve wanted to see Tommy for years. Ever since the movie came out in 1975 when my folks said I was too young to go. It’s not a nice story, not really suitable for impressionable young girls. But the music is good, the acting was wonderful, and I enjoyed watching it last night.

That is the third show I’ve seen this year and I can measure progress on my knee with these shows. For the first one, I could was limping and barely able to walk without assistance up the hill to my car. And I couldn’t sit for the whole show in the low beach chair; but had to sneak up and sit in a chair for second half of Wizard of Oz. For the second show, Young Frankenstein, I got around just fine, but found getting up from the ground challenging. Small matter of trusting my knee and by then sore ankle. Last night, no problems at all. Hoping around on curbs, walking stairs, moving fast going up the hill to the car. Progress was slow in the recovery. But when I compare the three experiences, it’s obvious that I’ve healed and done well in the healing process.

Last note before heading off to work. Can you figure out the story behind this picture.

20130930-072805.jpg

Yep, there are two cats sitting on the kitchen counter. And yep, we no longer actively try to teach them not to get on the counter. The dog changed everything. So Sally is enjoying her treat of catnip. She loves catnip, especially small little plants that can be eaten in a single sitting. Once I grew a dozen small plants. In the past, she’s gotten to the seedlings when they were about 2 inches high. But this year, Elly protected the plants since they were on top of her box. Sally has no use for the dog and thus didn’t get them. Bob planted them outside for me. The next week we went outside, every single little plant except one hidden under another plant had been pulled out and demolished. I suspect Sally did it.

The one on the counter is too big to be a premium one, but she’ll enjoy it none the less. Well Charlie is curious about everything. And he wanted to see what Sally was doing. But Sally has no patience for kittens and she made her displeasure clear. What you see in the picture was a very rapid retreat by kitten after a single glance with dagger eyes. Sally didn’t have to say anything; but
Charlie knew he was in trouble.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

