Small things

Life has been really busy, no time for extra stuff like blogging. So today we talk about small things, all those little inconsequential things that make up a day.

First, today I’ve been a klutz. Lost my pretty little stone from the equinox walk. Had it at work before I went to a meeting and at the end of the day, realized it was gone. Also lost an earring–one of my nice spirals. It’s nice because I like them and because those are about the only earrings I can find (or could find). Left my pink ipod on my desk (at least I hope it’s there). And then finally finished the evening thinking I had lost the last piece of a jigsaw puzzle. Wasn’t true, did find that piece, so perhaps there is hope for all the other lost things. Liz, thanks for contributing to my sanity; we had lots of fun doing your left behind unopened jigsaw puzzle. Here’s the picture. And of course looking it, found out there is still a missing piece. Can you find it?

20130923-200413.jpg

Next topic is halloween costumes. Last year, I went looking too late and all the larger size costumes for her were sold. But this year Elly is ready, she’s got her costume. No one else has even thought about a costume; but Elly will be a bumble bee. Doesn’t she look happy.

20130923-200702.jpg

The next topic of amusement is our ever vigilant congress who knows what we need to know better than ourselves. Not only are they willing to risk the US credit rating, turn the economy into disarray, and shut everything down because they don’t the like health care. Ted Cruz himself told us that if it wasn’t stopped, the american public would love it and that can’t be allowed. Like weaning ourselves from dangerous things; we are not smart enough to know that cheaper health care is dangerous.

Same goes for science. This article from the guardian shows how they look out for our best interests by not allowing the position of science laureate. An unpaid position, several scientists could be nominated for this honor with the idea that they could then promote science education among our kids. BUT WAIT, this person might mention climate change or sea level changes and we can’t have that. You don’t believe me, read the article.
http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/sep/20/republicans-congress-science-laureate-bill-blocked?google_editors_picks=true

On the good news side, charlie and elly continue building a relationship. They play together constantly although the styles of play of so different it’s hard to watch. Sort of like watching kids play on a jungle gym. I never was able to watch the girls–seeing how high they went on the swing and how they would tumble on the bars always scared me. Since I didn’t want to stop the play, I wouldn’t look. It drove them bonkers and they always tried to trick me into watching. Perhaps now that they are getting older, those girls will realize why. Anyway, here’s a cute picture of the cat and dog.

20130923-201818.jpg

Lots more has happened, but tonight is not the night for telling more stories. So Ciao!

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

