Happy Birthday Blog

It’s the one year anniversary for this blog.  When I started, it was a competition between Maggie and I—Blog Wars.  These blog wars were a way for us both to communicate while Maggie was on her first exotic job – a field camp up in the northern woods of Minnesota (near Ely).  But it turns out this became much more; a great way to communicate with family, a chance to tell some fun stories, and a way for me to practice my writing.  I like writing this blog and I appreciate those who read it.

And as for Maggie’s blog,  http://whisperingcats.tumblr.com/, she’s still maintaining it as well.  Between the two of us, we have hundreds of pictures and postings telling the story of two lives.  Someday, I’ll turn those two stories into a book about two women and their random life intersections.  This book will tell stories also in the style of James Herriot, All Creatures Great and Small series.

At the one year anniversary, I’m asking for some feedback – what kinds of stories do you like, which blog posts were the best, what do you want to hear more about?  I don’t promise to change what is written, but I can add more for the second year.   And I can use your feedback to help shape this novel.

Thank you in advance for your help.  It’s been my pleasure to share this last year’s worth of stories.  Happy Birthday Blog.  And here’s to another year of great stories.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Happy Birthday Blog”

  1. Hi – Overall I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog – think that you do a great job expressing yourself and it has really helped me feel as though I’m staying in closer touch with you and your family, which I really want to do. Keep up the good work, love Mom

Leave a Reply

