Mt Laguna and other things in Life

Well it’s been a while, time to catch up on the Mount Laguna Report. Bob and I had a great time camping on the mountain. Of course, we forgot not only camera bulb (for taking meteor pictures) but the tent poles as well. That’s not surprising, we’ve done that in the past. In fact, the one and only time I’ve seen the northern lights was because I left my wallet at a campground in Canada on our honeymoon. We had to go back (several hundred miles) to look for the wallet because of customs. Turned around, headed north and were totally blown away by the lights. Had no idea they were even occurring because we had not looked backwards. Did find the wallet, but then left the tent poles behind. But I’m digressing, the tent on Mt. Laguna was for Elly, not us. And she ended sleeping in the car. And since we didn’t have the BULB (an implement for keeping the camera shutter open), there are no meteor pictures. We did see a great show none the less. And we got some great pictures. A little bit of enhancement to bring out the colors and a couple of the pictures are cropped. So enjoy the photo journey.
We took off on Sunday afternoon. Mt. Laguna is about 1.5 hours from our house (80 miles) in south county San Diego. I had never been down there, its a different world. South county reminds me of vista 20 years ago — semi rural, lots of new developments, hot and dusty, but charm and hints of a slower old fashioned way of life. The billboards are different — old fashioned static signs representing small businesses. No electronic signs. Mt Laguna is on the sunshine highway, a smaller two lane road that rises steeply. Very rapidly one goes to above 6000 feet. There is a small town, well not quite a town, a couple of buildings. The campground was right next to them, but we missed it and went an extra 15 miles down the road. I’m glad we go to see the huge burned out section. I’m not sure when the fire occurred, it seems hard to believe the fire occurred in 2007. There were very few signs of new growth. But I don’t remember hearing about a mount laguna fire. Of course, it’s south county so why would North County care? And since the Union Tribune is a very poor local paper (no local news) and we don’t watch TV, it’s entirely possible we missed news about this fire.

First photo is from our car window.

20130818-095622.jpg

Next are the pictures from the burn zone.

20130818-095722.jpg

20130818-095754.jpg

20130818-095805.jpg

Finally we got to camp where we discovered the missing items. Nice campground, but we were a little to close to the bathrooms. We could smell the chemicals used to clean it. But the view was fantastic, great chance to see the stars. It turns out that most of the people there were doing the same thing and we all were clustered around the few open meadows.

20130818-100704.jpg

Went for a hike and saw a beautiful desert view.

20130818-100842.jpg

And of course, there are the inevitable man and dog photos. I love taking pictures of Bob with Elly. They are great subjects.

20130818-101002.jpg

20130818-101012.jpg

20130818-101020.jpg

And there were some great logs. I love pictures of tree trunks and bark. These will be fun to try drawing.

20130818-101130.jpg

20130818-101142.jpg

20130818-101154.jpg

20130818-101204.jpg

And finally, small stuff. There were some incredible flowers and plants up there. Because it is high, the desert bloom was still occurring in August. Bob got this good shot of some type of flower, need to find the desert bloom book and look it up. It looks like some otherworld type alien.

20130818-101225.jpg

Overall this was a great trip. I got to work a bit late on Monday. The only downer is there are no places to easily buy coffee near Mt. Laguna, so we had to wait until reaching Rancho Bernardo for coffee. And I was tired, a wretch by the end of the day. Bob dropped me off at work and I took the bus/train home. Had forgotten how relaxing the public transportation can be. The hard part was not going to sleep. A co-worker insisted on giving me a ride to the bus station because I was limping. By the end of the day, I was so happy he had. I had overdone it and hurt. But that’s another story.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

One thought on “Mt Laguna and other things in Life”

  1. Great pictures Robine. The last tree trunk picture looks like a fossilized other worldly alien with bangs. Could it be..?

Leave a Reply

