kitten updates and a wolf appears

Well charlie is starting to fit into our household. Right now, he’s allowed out of the bathroom and now has access to my bedroom. I’m actually in the room at the moment working on socialization between Charlie and Sophie. He’s trying to help type while Sophie is sitting on the window sill staring at him. Not much hissing, but not friends either. Charlie is getting better although he’s still sneezing from his cold. His leg, which had been badly infected looks really good. He’s rapidly putting on weight, the bones on his back are not as prominent. And Bob commented that it is easy to see he’s eating by the results in his litter box. So here are a couple more pictures of him, he’s adorable.

20130804-104844.jpg

20130804-104854.jpg

20130804-104903.jpg

Other things have been happening this weekend as well. Last night, Bob and I went out for dinner; celebrating our 31st anniversary. We went out to Stone Ale Brewery and had a wonderful dinner on the patio overlooking the gardens. Better yet, this celebration was arranged by our daughters who even made the reservations. They paid for the dinner and they even provided chauffeur service so we didn’t have to worry about a designated driver. No one has ever done all that for us before; so thank you Kate and Liz for a wonderful evening.

Who would have imagined that 31 years can go by so quickly with so much laughter and joy. Yes there were hard times, but I’m still happy to be living with this guy; I would gladly marry him again. The celebration was a few days early — but thats training from being a florists daughter. I learned from my parents who ran a florist shop for many years; you celebrate holidays when you can. The date is not as important as the celebration. In the florist business, you have to do this because you are always working on the big holidays. So we had a great date on Saturday and we might even celebrate time in a week or two depending on life.

And still more has been happening. I went out to my sculpture school on Friday — OMG, it’s scary what we are planning. First class of the school in January, several fund raising campaigns this fall, I’m writing the business plan, and we will all be busy. But part of the payback for my work is I am getting training in the process of creating metal sculptures. So on Friday, I learned how to pour metal, in fact, was part of the crew. There were only 2 of us, Brandon Roy the artist, and myself. He showed me how to turn on the furnace, melt the metal, operate the crane, pour the metal, and clean up afterwards. I got my parents plaque and the wolf poured. They are gorgeous and close to being finished. I need to go buy a hacksaw blade and / or use my angle grinder to cut off the sprues, sand them smooth, and put on patina. Patina is the stain you put on metals to make them look older and more finished. So I have a lunch time expedition to escondido next week to buy patina from Ron Brown, one of the experts recognized around the world in patinas. That will be fun. Anyway, here’s a picture of my wolf.

20130804-110255.jpg

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

