EBooks teach me to NOT read

With E-Books, I’m slowly being trained to no longer read. Many reasons

  • Don’t like using a computer screen after long day at work. My eyes need a break from the computer lights.
  • Can’t pay cash for the books. Books are a luxury purchase. So when I had extra cash, the girls and I would head to the bookstore and spend it. No problems, no budgets were impacted. But now book purchases are done via credit card –it’s the only way to buy ebooks and bills come later. I don’t like this model.
  • No more browsing of books. The lists of books are overwhelming, hard to navigate, and you can’t check critical things like the ending of the book. Too many of the books today are written as cliff-hangers, buy the next yet unwritten book to maybe finish the story. I don’t want to buy those books, I don’t like waiting a year or two for the next book.
  • Books are too expensive. I know there are costs associated with writing a novel and publishing it. But honestly, why is an ebook costing more than a novel. You’ve gotten rid of many of the negatives, shipping and handling, storage, display. I would expect at least a small discount, not get hit with a premium price.
  • The whole family knows what your reading. And so you open yourself up to teasing about rereading a book or gets some junk novel. But if you don’t share accounts then you don’t even get to share a book across the family.
  • Can’t share books or see what my friends are reading. So we don’t even talk about books anymore. I don’t even see the covers of the books my friends are reading. Any many of my favorite reading adventures came from friends recommendations.
  • No more used bookstores. All the good ones nearby have closed. And one of the joys of life used to be browsing the bookshelves and finding unknown adventures. Through used bookstores, I found many eclectic gems. The search algorithms with the major book sellers narrows your focus, not expanding them.

It will be interesting to see what happens to the book market. There are some positive things. Self publishing means that there is a way for new voices to break into the market. And there are legions of cheap books, albeit with mixed quality. Some of them could use a bit more editing. And it is easy to get books, anytime and anyplace. That can be a great luxury.

The good thing for the book market is that no matter what I won’t be able to stop reading.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

