Ordered to write a post because LOTS has been happening

Life has been HAPPENING the last few days. Lots has been going on and Liz ordered me to write a blog post. After all, she said, she can’t keep up with the happenings if I don’t write. So where to start. The big things or the little things.

Ok, with the big things. First, I made a decision NOT to attend school this fall at Palomar. But this is not a bad thing. I need to do physical activity like swimming or walking on a regular basis, otherwise I won’t ever be able to walk normally. I need to work — paying the bills is something important to me. I need to sleep. And I want / need to spend time with my family. I also want / need to spend time exploring my new skills as an artist. So I decided to act on an unusual opportunity. I’m going to rent space as a resident artist at a yet to be establish art school.

Yep, I’m making a public declaration that I want to be an ARTIST. But….there are always BUTs. This is a very interesting opportunity. There is a wanna be sculpture school in Fallbrook, a few miles away from Vista. They are the ones doing the iron pour next weekend. I’ve got a piece they are coating with ceramic shell for this event. An iron pour is a big event, they don’t happen very often and so I’m willing to take advantage of opportunities. While at the school, I was talking with the owner about private lessons. Since I injured my knee last spring, I was unable to finish my bronze box, bell, or other pieces. It bugs me, I like working with metal and want to make wonderful sculptures. Unfortunately, crutches and power tools don’t mix. The idea of using a sawzall combined with crutches makes ME wince. But instead of private lessons; the owner of this to be art school, Brandon Roy, suggested I should join as one of the resident artists.

I know he needs people to help pay the rent until the school gets started. But it’s a chance to work with some great artists as an apprentice. Yes, I’m called a resident artist; but I will be learning more than doing art. Brandon Roy would be willing to spend the 5 minutes at random intervals helping me finish existing bronze pieces and start new ones. The other resident artists (and I’ve met several of them) also are willing to help me learn. And I know that there are going to be opportunities to help get this school started. I’ve already been asked (by his business partner) if I can help with the 501C(3) paperwork for the IRS. So it’s another big project where I get the privilege of paying to play. But it’s such an exciting opportunity — working with some really great artists, setting up yet another school program, and learning how to do art myself. Plus, I can do this on weekends. So that leaves the week free for work, exercise, sleep, and then family during the week. It becomes a manageable schedule, letting me deal with the exercise and weight issues in a more rational manner. And the answer is yes, I’m very happy to trade the need to read a NOLO book about 501-C(3) IRS tax exempt organizations for the chance to learn about some really great art; even if I didn’t think I was ready to become a sculpture.

So this coming weekend, I’ll turn in 3 months rent for an “art studio” space and become a resident artist. And I now need to figure out how to tell palomar community college that I need a leave of absence. We will see how all turns out. But I would never even have considered this opportunity without the knee injury. It’s amazing how things can change rapidly.

So what else is going on in life. The answer is lots. Kat is redoing her room. Today she totally emptied the room, learned how dirty wall-to-wall carpeting is, and began repainting her walls. Tomorrow she finishes the painting and will buy some new flooring. Later this week, she will learn how to install flooring in a bedroom. Bob is helping her, I have escaped most responsibilities since I have to work. Work seems easy to pulling up carpeting and cleaning the floor afterwards.

Liz is busy working in New Mexico. It sounds like her internship has worked out wonderfully. Not only is she getting double paid through an NSF grant at UNM (University of New Mexico, Albuquerque); but she’s having a blast learning new things. Today she was talking about wearing a bunny suit while learning how to use a microscope in a clean room to measure silicon chips at Sandia. Sounds like a really fun job for someone who’s just completed a sophomore year. She’s happy with the job. I’m jealous of where she is working (Sandia National Labs). And they want to keep her. It can’t get much better than that.

But it does. I get all three girls at home for 3 days at the end of july. It can’t get much better than that–another picture of the three lewis girls. Maggie and Liz still laugh about the last one. I made such a fuss, we went over to grandma’s house; woke up Kate; and took a picture. She looked so grumpy in the photo. Of course, 30 years from now, those 3 girls will be glad I’ve insisted on taking a picture every time they get together. Right now it is still an imposition.

So what else is going on. Well Maggie finishes her job in a few days. I think she’ll be happy; Hopland was not as much fun as other jobs have been. After a few days in San Francisco, she’ll come home albeit with a boyfriend. That’s ok. I like company; the more the merrier. So her boyfriend will be very welcome at our house. She’ll stay a few days or a couple weeks before leaving for back east. Mag’s has to be in Penn State by early August for graduate school. In the meantime; I’ll enjoy her company.

And Kat is very busy enjoying her summer. Between the beach, room remodels, and other activities; I barely see her. She has been busy working on the driver’s ed, so she may become a student driver in the next few weeks.

Thank goodness we have Bob at home. Without his constant support and more importantly home cooked dinners, I don’t know what would be happening. Lots of disorganization and a lot less art. I’m happy for his support. He’s helping everyone keep organized and sane.

There’s lots else happening, but it’s almost 10 pm. Tomorrow morning, 6 am, the swimming pool beckons. While I may not want to get up at that time, the swimming is important for my walking skills. So It’s time to stop blogging and go to bed. More news later.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

