Summer Solstice and a Supermoon

This is a great weekend for celebrations — we have two good excuses.  Today is the Summer Solstice for 2013.   Today is the longest day of the year, sunrise at 5:23 am and sunset at 8:37 pm; making the daylight period almost 15 hours long.  So today is a great day to enjoy the outside.  And Sunday is the super moon of super moons for 2013.  The sun, moon, and earth all line up to make the moon appear to be huge in the sky.  Because the moon is physically at the closest point to earth, the full moon can appear at much as 30% bigger than normal.  It’s well worth the effort to take a look at it.

To celebrate these events, I’m going to share some pictures of epiphyllum flowers taken last month.  Three years ago, Bob bought me 3 small pieces of epiphylum plants at the wild animal park for mothers day.  He planted and has tended them for the last 3 years.  Last month two of the three plants bloomed.  It’s a big deal when these flowers bloom, they are huge beautiful showy blooms that last only a day or two.  I was lucky to catch any pictures.  Next time, I’ll have to plan better and perhaps can get even better pictures.

2013-05-26 10.32.57 2013-05-26 10.33.13 2013-05-26 10.33.49 2013-05-26 10.34.05 2013-05-26 10.34.17

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

One thought on “Summer Solstice and a Supermoon”

  1. Gorgeous flowers! Thanks for sharing these pictures. I’ve never seen this before. The moon last night was pretty spectacular too and this morning. I picked up Penny at 5 a.m. to take her to the airport. There’s a very special good energy outdoors that early in the morning!

Leave a Reply

