Tidings of small things

Time to catch up on various small items. First, I’m healing well. The second doctor said it would take another month (two weeks ago). That prediction seems about right. Yesterday I actually thought I was walking pretty normally with a minimal limp. HURRAHHHH!!!!! I’m so sick of being injured. On Friday (my off day), I’m going to try riding a bike down to Fraser Farms. Nice short easy ride where I can call for help if needed. Probably no problems, but I’m a bit scared about hurting the knee again.

The sewing class / fabric fondling give away went very well. It was a great birthday present to myself although most did not know that. About 20 people came to collect fabric — all 15 bags of it disappeared. Several are interested in making rugs, which means some of that log might disappear later. One person came a few minutes early to help move fabric. By this point I had collected a big bag of “must keep”samples. The fabric was so beautiful. But I gave her the bag and said “take it away from me, I have no will power”. And she did. This was a woman who has an unemployed adult daughter living with her. Her daughter made a batch of bags from the last sewing class and had a blast. So I know my fabric is going to a good home. This summer we are going to have another class where people bring their projects to get help or show off the results. Everyone is enjoying these one hour sessions.

Went out to curbside cafe this morning. Elly loves coming, she gets to see everything and at the end, gets a treat. Kate loves it also, she gets a treat of coffee cake. Bob and I have a nice date and usually manage to buy a newspaper (the LA Times). Its a big change, I love newspapers. But now we mostly read them on the IPAD. The union tribune (our local paper) is so bad; its a mouthpiece for a rabidly conservative developer. It makes me angry to read that paper and it doesn’t even do a good job of presenting local news. Anyway, the picture below show’s both the kid treat and the dog treat. Of course, Bob often jokes that the dog is another kid. And yes, Elly does like to eat bananas.

20130619-073600.jpg

Michael and his companion Clarissa arrived Monday Night. They are good kids; responsible young adults having what I hope is a fantastic vacation. Yesterday Bob took them and Kate down to La Jolla Cove. Except for Clarissa getting sunburned and Bob forgetting his swimsuit; all said it was a magical day. The kids (Michael, Clarissa, and Kat) went to movies last night; but I don’t know what they saw. And today, they are going to the Zoo. Clarissa really wants to see all the pandas. She watches panda cam. I’ve checked that out myself, it is a fun diversion. I”m pleased; we’ll get our passes renewed so we can go back again. In fact, the big birthday present for Bob and I is a day at Balboa park where we split the picnic preparation responsibilities. It’s going to be lots of fun.

Well it’s off to work. But I get to leave early today. Am taking my wolf up to fallbrook for shelling. What that means is it will be covered by layers of ceramic shell. And one of the world experts in bronze patinas (i.e. the tints / paints put on finished bronze pieces) will be doing the shelling. I feel lucky. Have a great day yourself.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

One thought on “Tidings of small things”

  1. I must say it again, Robine, you are a very kind and thoughtful person. You are always thinking about how things will affect others and are so generous. Can’t wait to see how your wolf turns out. Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

