History–sleeping kids

As part of a general computer clean up, I’ve been looking at lots of old photos.  And of course, there are some great snapshots of kids.  We used to host slumber parties for new years eve.  And with 3 kids spanning 8 years, there was always a lot chaos and joy.  For several years, when the kids were smaller, they would sleep in the living room.  And when we woke up in the morning, it was like a dog pile–kids all tumbled on top of each other in a small area.  I loved seeing those piles of kids.

DSCF1787

Found another great picture of Kat having fallen asleep reading comic books.  Since her dad had not been feeling good, they both enjoyed snuggling into our bed.   Kat loved comic books from an early age — as soon as she could read a bit and understand the pictures, she voraciously read any and all comics.  One extravagant purchase had been a complete set of calvin and hobbes comic books.  While it was a fancy set, it turned out that we managed to read those books so much the binding broke and pages started falling out.  Always wondered if I should have contacted the manufacture for a new copy.

DSCF1808

And any discussion of sleeping family members has to include sleeping cats.  Here’s an old picture of Sophia with a long gone companion, Dinah.  She was a gorgeous tabby cat.  One of the few times in my life I’ve been really impulsive and irresponsible.  Saw her in a pet store at too young an age for leaving her mom.  Went back the next day and bought her without talking to anyone.  When the kids and Bob came home, they found this really small kitten in our house.  I loved that cat although she was really shy and didn’t like being touched by people.  She was my cat, I was the only one who could hold here.  Like Emily, she got eaten by coyotes many years ago.

DSCF1796

And here’s Emily in her glory, sleeping on Bob’s lap.  She was his cat all senses.  She didn’t like being held by anyone and rarely wanted to be petted.  But she followed Bob around the yard, came every morning to beg for snack.  She and Elly would both wait patiently for their ham snacks.  Emily had the strangest sleeping habits.  She would find a place to sleep — a chair, basket of laundry, a drawer, the top of a china closet, or hiding in the linen closet.  And that was her sleeping spot for 2 or 3 days.  Then she would find another spot.  It was never predictable.  I’ve never seen a cat sleep so soundly.  No noises disturbed her. Often she slept for 8-10 hours without moving.  And then every morning, she went outside.  Hunting was her passion, she loved going outside.  I remember as a kitten she jumped out of a second story window to go outside.  She tore the screens apart, climbed through all kinds of holes, and was impossible to keep inside.  That last night when the coyotes caught her, she had pushed out a screen in the living room, slipping through the hole between 1 and 2 am.  I miss her.

DSCN4396

 

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

