Cooking

This morning, I went to a chocolate festival at the san diego botanic gardens. Learned how to make triple thread chocolate cookies with a chipotle kick. My friend who was doing the demo had given us free tickets, so Bob and I really got a deal. The festival was crowded, but with the tickets, we got into the short entry line. And then Bob got offered a chance to park in handicapped parking because I had crutches. He turned it down, dropped me at the front entrance, and then returned after parking the car. I’m glad he did, on the walk back, I got to see some great bamboo stands. And saw some great plant sculptures (topiaries?). Now I want to make a great big one for my house, perhaps the shape of a large cat.

20130511-154416.jpg

20130511-154434.jpg

20130511-154459.jpg

It’s a beautiful saturday afternoon and the cookies left me hankering for more sweets. And the urge to cook. So I’m making lemon bars. Found this 20 or 30 year old photocopy of a lemon bar recipe and thought I would make it again. Think it came from a long lost friend–Gail. The long lost part is my fault, I’ve not been good at keeping in touch. But she used to make great lemon bars and shared her recipe. Yumm.

Lemon Cookies

  • 1 cup butter
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • mix together with a pastry blender. pat into 9×13 inch pan. bake for 15 minutes at 350.

    meanwhile

  • 4 beaten eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 teasppons grated lemon peel
  • 4 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • 4 tablespoons flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • mix ingredients together. pour on top of baked cookie bottom. bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

    Note that this morning I learned you can substitute a 1/2 teaspoon each of cream of tartar and baking soda for baking power. Turned out to be useful because it turned out because I couldn’t find any baking power.

    Since I’m writing down recipes, might as well include the really good baked salmon and potatoes dish from the night of pound cake disaster. I tried those recipes the following week for a birthday party and they were still great recipes.

    Herb crusted Salmon

  • Couple pounds of salmon
  • Brin the salmon (i.e soak in a mixture of 1/2 cup salt and water to cover) for at least 20 minutes. You can leave it for a couple hours. rinse when done and pat dry.

  • Lots of fresh herbs — tarragon, majoram, rosemary, basil. About a cup.
  • drizzle a bit of olive oil on the bottom of a pan. put the salmon in a pan and cover with herbs.

  • 1 cup bread crumbs
    2 table spoons mayonnaise
    1-2 tablespoons of good mustard
    1 egg
    salt and pepper to taste
  • Mix the ingredients together. Place on top of the herbs. bake at 350 for 25 minutes or until the internal salmon temperature is125 degrees F. Serve and eat.

    Twice cooked potatoes
    Cut about 2 pounds of small potatoes — white, yellow, red or creamers. Place them face down in a skillet. Add a drizzle of olive oil and several sprigs of herbs (use some of the left overs from the salmon dish). Add a bit of salt and pepper, cover with water.

    Simmer the potatoes without a lid. When the water steams away, stir the potatoes and leave them cooking in the pan. When they get crisp browned skin, serve and eat.

    Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

    Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

    Leave a Reply

    