Labyrinth Hobble – Not Happening

It’s Saturday and a whole weekend stretches in front of me. Today is World Labryinth Day — everyone walks a labyrinth as one at one while thinking good thoughts and world peace. Since I’m still on crutches although getting much better, Bob and Kat were laughing this would be a labyrinth hobble, not a walk. But the one I was going to attend got canceled and only ones local are on rough ground. And it’s difficult enough even with the one on flat ground that I’m not going to do it by myself.

So then the question becomes what to do with the day. The delicious joy of choosing something fun–sewing, painting, watching a movie, reading a novel, or trying to do it all. This morning is starting out lazy with coffee, a movie, and waiting for my mom-in-law to bring over some donuts. Kat and her friend wanted chocolate twists and I’m getting a ham&cheese croissant. We’ll figure it out after another cup of coffee (or two).

Yesterday I stopped at the Palomar Art Department Open House. It was a blast, a big party with lots of food, demos, student glass pieces for sale, and music. I knew a fair number of people so even had some interesting conversations. They had put my bronze box on display as one of the student pieces. Saw lots of classes I want to take — ceramics, glass working, more metal working, sculpture in general, oil painting, and drawing. Years of fun ahead. My new goal is to apply for a masters in fine art six years from now when Kate is done with college. Even suggested to Bob we should sell the house and go live overseas for a few years on the proceeds before moving somewhere close to grandchildren. He choked at that idea and finally under prompting said it was a good daydream.

Sophia has become quite a slug. She likes to sleep all morning on the top bunk, all after noon outside or in the living room. Guess she’s becoming like an old lady. I think she’s nine years old, which is sort of old for a cat. Enjoy the photos of her morning nap. Note that she’s sleeping on a large stuffed dog. When the kids outgrew their stuffed animals, they became beloved by our other kids (the pets). Elly also continues to play with her stuffed dog–it gets dragged all over the house. Right now it’s out in the middle of the living room.

20130504-095416.jpg

20130504-095428.jpg

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

