Meteor Showers, May Day, and Art

This weekend there is another meteor shower. If you happen to be up early in the morning (say 2 – 5 am) on Friday, Saturday, Sunday, or Monday morning; take a look for the Eta Aquarids. 4 Am on May 5th (sunday) is the predicted peak with 10-20 meteors per hour coming from the east. There won’t be another meteor shower until the end of july. For details see the website:

http://earthsky.org/astronomy-essentials/earthskys-meteor-shower-guide

Today is May Day, the first day of summer. It follows the night of the Beltane, a traditional celtic festival. Bonfires, maypoles, and dancing is traditional for the celebration of this holiday. Instead, I went to school for the first time in a couple of weeks. Coming in on crutches, it was obvious to all that I wasn’t in shape for metal working. Crutches and a sawz-all don’t seem like a good combination. And it might be a little bit difficult to use the sand blasting tool — that requires 2 hands and a foot to operate. I can image balancing on the slotted box which is the stand for that device and teetering around as I try to use my good foot / leg to turn on the sand blasting power. It’s not a pretty picture since recovery depends on being carful.

We came to an agreement. I’m probably getting a B in the class since I can’t finish the work. However, the other’s in the class have been very helpful, so my pieces got dipped and will get poured. And this summer I might be able to get the sanding and polishing almost done at home. That would leave the patina’s for next fall. I’ll check back with the class a couple of times over the next few weeks, will go to the student art open house on Friday afternoon, and attend the potluck final. That will be fun. It’s nice, the other students were glad to see me.

I did get to attend a great art class last weekend. Titled Grapes and Renoir, this was a 3 hour class painting a version of Renoir’s Mulberry Tree Painting. For 30 dollars, I got a large canvas and all needed supplies (paint and brushes) and a glass of wine. First time I had used acrylic paints,it was a great learning experience. And lots of fun, Suzie came with me. It was a tough class for her, she likes everything just so. And in class, we were creating an impromptu impressionistic painting. But she was brave and did have a good time. There were about 15 people in the class and every single painting was different. None of them were exact copies of the samples which themselves did not look exactly like the original painting. Mine was ok, but I want to make the tree lighter. It’s too dark and heavy. But the beauty of acrylic paint is that I can easily put another layer of paint on it later.

20130501-205504.jpg

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

