Crutches Bling and other Things

It’s been a tough week. Going to work on crutches is hard. And by the evening time, I’m pretty sore. Pain can wear a person out, even with good pills. So it’s time to do something fun, like adding outrageous Bling to one’s crutches. This frog needs a name, Sylvia might good. It bounces along and causes lots of laughs.

20130425-071842.jpg

What do you thing — is there a marketing opportunity here. We could put together lots of interesting object, different kinds of pouches and purses–all with adjustable straps that go on crutches and other medical equipment. Anyone interested in pursuing a business opportunity with me? I’ll do the designs and someone else does the marketing / business side.

Dreamed about having 4 dogs last night. Elly, Mitzi–visiting from my in-laws, a shaggy poodle, and a very small hairless dog (can’t spell ch……) that can fit into the palm of your hand. Can’t remember exactly what we were doing in the dream, but they were some fairly interesting adventures. I didn’t wake up so it wasn’t a nightmare. I do remember carrying the littlest dog all around the picnic grounds.

Mitzi is visiting. Her owners, my in-laws, are on vacation; going to visit Liz in New Mexico. They are taking the train both ways — the Chieftain. A great old train, it leaves Los Angeles in the afternoon and gets into Albuquerque late in the morning. If you get a sleeper room, then the meals are included. It’s a trip to eat with fine china in a dinner car. The food is good and the surroundings fantastic. I hope they have a good time.

Ironically, my parents also let yesterday on vacation. They went to New York where they met my brother Scott with his family. And then they are all going on a cruise from New Jersey down to the Bahama’s. Sounds like fun, although I’m not a boat person. They should have a great time.

Well my coffee’s done, so it’s probably time to face into work. It’s the transitions that are hard. That and the sitting in one position that makes the knee hurt. But this whole experience is good training. If I don’t get up every hour or so and go for a stroll, things hurt. If I get up and walk around, things don’t hurt. A few more weeks of this, and it will be ingrained as a pattern. And as a bonus, I’ve become really good at balancing on my left foot. Wonder if this will translate into the balancing abilities on my right foot when I get off the crutches.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

