Back at Work

Today was my first day back at work since the knee injury over a week ago. My bosses were kind enough to let me work from home last week. It was hard walking, no not walking, crutching into that place. But all turned out ok. Learned several things.
1. many people have had knee injuries, all of them say they are painful and heal slowly. By their standards, I’m doing very well.
2. No one thought I was stupid or oversensitive to use crutches even though I can stand on two legs. In fact, most people told me not to over do it, make sure I keep using them until I’m really healed.
3. There are a number of people who won’t ask what happened — probably too polite, but they still want to hear stories.
4. If you make jokes about new fashion accessories (i.e. crutches), others can also have great creative ideas. I like the thought of blinky rope lights on the crutches the best. May have to actually implement them.
5. The cutting and pinning fabric bags for sewing party has been rescheduled and now I have even more people coming. Will be able to get rid of lots of fabric.
6. People were glad to see me back at work. That was a good feeling.

And I’m tired. It was a hard day. So it’s off to bed at 8 pm.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

One thought on “Back at Work”

  1. Sounds like you had a really good first day back to work. Isn’t it interesting how it takes an unpleasant event/misfortune in life to allow people to show that they care. Guess it’s too weird to say I like/love you for no reason at all. Rope lights sound fantastic. Be sure to take pictures.

Leave a Reply

