Gimpy Girl

Well it’s been quiet around here for the last few days. That’s because I’ve not been able to do anything besides limp around the house with the aid of crutches. Take pain meds. And complain about not being able to do anything. Bob and Kate must be sick of me. The cats are delighted, someone to nap with during the day.

Last saturday I went hiking with some friends to the calaveras preserve in carlsbad. We wanted to see the hidden labyrinth. It’s up in the volcano’s caldera, supposed to be a nice 7 ring maze. Well plans are good, but this turned into a lesson on humility. Climbing up the wall (a very steep staircase), I overextended my knee backwards causing immediate pain. Worse yet, the muscles got so overextended, my knee would no longer support me. No walking. Instead, I had to crawl down the hill. Then I accepted help from two young men who want to become firefighters. So last saturday, they got the chance to be hero’s helping me walk at least half a mile, probably closer to a mile back to the car.

Once there, my friends worked together to drive me and my car home. Once at home, Kate became a force to be reckoned with. She called grandma and grandpa who came over and took me to the emergency room. It was really quick — only a couple hours. There I got a knee brace and crutches. Those crutches have become my new best friends. I can’t do anything without them.

Overall I’m really lucky. No damage could be seen on the x-rays. I did not tear or break things, only pulled muscles. So I’m home with a sprained knee. Work has been supportive, letting me work from home this week. And thus I’m able to concentrate on healing while not using all my vacation time. Tomorrow I’ll go back to the doctor and see how much longer I’ll be on crutches. It probably will be for a few more weeks. But that’s doable.

But it would be nice if they say I am healing well and driving. It’s hard being confined to home. It’s hard not being able to get coffee. I have learned how to make tea with the help of a thermos. And I’m really good at making toast although I tend to eat it standing up at the sink. Haven’t figured out how to move a plate without turning it sideways.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Gimpy Girl”

  1. Dear Robine, I’m so sorry to hear about your accident while hiking to the labyrinth. I wish I could do something to help you to feel better. I will send you positive thoughts each day for a quick and complete recovery. The next walk Mary has planned is on level ground, easy access. By that time, I will be working “normal” hours again and will be able to participate. I have missed seeing you. Most days, I’m even too tired to comment on your blog entries, but I do read them all and enjoy them very much. Hope you are completely healed soon.

Leave a Reply

