The infected zone

I came down with a cold. One of those nasty runny nose, ugly feeling colds. So yesterday, I was a klutz and managed to lock myself out of my work computer. First could not get the password correct, and then couldn’t navigate through the telephone help menu to restore the account. So the laptop that lets me work from home is dead at the moment. I really didn’t want to work yesterday. And today I was too klutzy / intimidated at work to call the help desk and get it fixed. That is the first task tomorrow.

So I get home after a long days work, not feeling great. Sniffles, runny nose, and maybe a small temperature. Is my family sympathetic–NO! Instead they send me to the infected zone. Banished from the cooking area, put at the end of the table, and final indignity–hand sanitizer is brought at 10 minute intervals. Kat provided me with pills nicely placed on a plate and ordered me to eat them. Such ingrates, all they seem worried about is their health. What about poor me?

One very funny incident. Bob has been cooking a chocolate cake. He declared there was not enough chocolate to make the frosting so Kat went and pulled it out of my secret stash. Bar after Bar appeared of the finest dark chocolates. One fell down on her foot and she immediately collapsed in pain. A chocolate bar, dropped from 6 feet, hit her meaty parts of the foot with a corner. Those were her words, not mine. As I asked incredulous that a small chocolate bar could fell a big strong girl, she exclaimed again “it was my meaty parts it hit”. All I could do was laugh. That bar is damned…the only fate left for it is to be melted down and put into frosting.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

One thought on “The infected zone”

  1. Hope you recover from your sniffly annoyance soon. I’m happy to read that your sense of humor is intact. I’m sending you positive, healing thoughts for a quick rebound to good health.

Leave a Reply

