Happy Ostara AKA Spring Equinnox

First day of spring, hope all get a chance to enjoy it. Tonight I went to a lovely labyrinth walk hosted by my good friends Penny and Mary. A small gathering, it was a wonderful way to acknowledge the seasons. After a short ceremony acknowledging the directions, the elements, and any / all gods we want to acknowledge, we did the walk in silence. It’s amazing what you see while walking around in circles.

I saw some grasshoppers. Since they had coloring that exactly matched the ground, it was impossible to see them until they jumped. At one turn in the labyrinth, there were hundreds of them leaping around on the path. It must be an act of faith to make that leap, since they are smaller than a inch in length and the hops are well over a foot long. I wonder if they know where they are going to land, can see the end point, or simply have very good reflexes and can adjust to land safely almost anywhere.

The clouds were gorgeous with a setting sun highlighting colors. I saw an eagle flying north in the clouds for a moment. Then they shifted and the eagle shape was gone. The sun cast a gold hole in the clouds that seemed to last forever. Again, if you looked carefully and squinted a bit, you could see other birds flying north in the cloud shapes. And there was a half moon almost directly overheard. All in all, the evening was magical. It made me happy to be able celebrate the equinox and acknowledge the changing seasons with some friends.

Speaking of religion, I’ve been listening to some of my druidcast podcasts again. They are fascinating–great music and interesting lectures. There was a two hour series on the history of dragons in the United Kingdom and why people think dragons exist. Another set of lectures talked about the differences in religion between the UK and United States. It was pointed out that Europe has been sending their extremists (i.e. those who did not fit into the european religious scene) for the last couple of hundred years. So it should be no wonder that the US has more conflicts of belief systems than Europe.

Last weekend we were at Balboa Park. One of the interesting things about the park on weekends is that many religious groups are there handing out literature. The Hari Krishna’s are standing near the Islam table which is across the walkway from the evangelical christian group. And there is also an atheist group which hands out literature. Last weekend, Bob picked up a great card from this group. I love the saying which you can see in the picture below. What I’ve never understood is the insistence on a single “correct” view from all the groups. They all are similar and yet different. How can only one be right and all the others wrong? Which is right and why do I have to choose? How can a group say that everyone else is damned or bad or cursed if they don’t believe in the “correct” view. And yet that viewpoint is heavily influenced by your upbringing which suggests that no view is totally right. Enough maudlin talk, enjoy the photo. And enjoy whatever holiday you chose to celebrate. Me, I would prefer to celebrate them all–after all there’s that many more excuses for a party.

20130320-204947.jpg

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Happy Ostara AKA Spring Equinnox”

Leave a Reply

