Dyslexia?

Last week I read an interesting article in the NY times about Dsylexia where they think it may be both a hearing and reading problem.

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/08/01/dyslexia-may-be-a-hearing-problem-too/

Some of the characteristics are

  • mispeaking words; using the wrong word for the context
  • not stating a complete thought, skipping words
  • difficulty learning to read
  • jumbling letters in words like the (teh)
  • reversing numbers
  • leaving a word out of a sentence
  • unable to spell properly
  • struggling with vocabulary
  • telling right from left

As the article described the symptoms; it sounded just like my issues.  So for fun I took some of those online “are you dyslexic” type tests and passed them all.  One test said over 8 “yes’s” strongly correlated to dyslexia; I had 17 yes’s.  Other tests had similar results.  It’s funny to learn something like that at age 52, but also reassuring.  I might go get formally tested; but am not sure it is needed.  Suspecting I have this disability explains my inability to write a sentence in cursive without making a stupid spelling error; things like writing “teh” instead of “the”.  Or why I use the wrong words in the writing.  Why I can’t see errors where numbers are swapped in the database. Why I write down the wrong charge numbers on a regular basis.  Why I constantly mishear things; pronounce words incorrectly and constantly use the wrong words.  For example; how I misheard the earlier lessons about looking at our dark sides.

The ironic thing is I have a job that has evolved into requiring lots of specific character checking.  Guess that creative streak has been helping out; I spend my life writing tools to find errors because I don’t trust myself to do the checks.  And with those tools and my paranoia about mistakes, we’ve got one of the lowest error rates in the company databases.  And we find more errors than any other groups.  So in this case, Dyslexia would be an asset, not a liability.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Dyslexia?”

  1. Finally got around to reading this post. It’s so good and important that I wish you would publish it, maybe on a dyslexia site for parents. It would be so comforting for a parent to know that dyslexia can be used as an asset. Again, I commend you, Robine. Great post.

Leave a Reply

