Mom’s a mess and other matters

Came home from class today a total disaster. After a moment of total shock at my appearance, she told me “Go Take a Shower NOW–You need one”. I don’t know why, a little bit of plaster never hurt anyone. Of course it is in my hair, on my face, and all over my clothes. Got a little bit enthusiastic making a mold for my bell. What do you think?

20130307-221808.jpg
Anyway, you know the VOILA bell from a couple of days ago; well that mold got thrown out and I was starting from scratch. But I got lots of help this time. Another student, a professional potter made me a bell from clay. It was beautiful and he hardened it using a blowtorch. It’s now been covered with plaster; tomorrow morning I get to pull it out from the plaster and will have a great mold. Perhaps I’ll pour a bell or two tomorrow morning before work.

Also got my box ready for dipping; the last steps before pouring metal. But even that was not without drama. First I demonstrated my ineptitude with a lighter. Then I struggled to get theblow torch lit with matches. Finally got it lit, but managed to start a fire with the discarded match and newspaper. Created my sprue structure only to have the teacher come ask why there was all that extra wax. Took it off, made a new structure, almost burned the teacher with the blowtorch. But that’s ready and with some help from fellow students, I might get everything done by Tuesday eveningl There are 10 dips needed, some requiring as many as 4 hours between dips. I’ve got to work. But promised to do other students stuff before work and after work. So there is a chance I’ll get finished.

On the very positive side, my daffodils bloomed. I love how they look and smell. And I got a great hat for work. It’s cold there, I sit right under the air conditioning vent. Don’t ask me why work runs the air conditioner at full blast during the winter because I don’t know. But they do which means standard gear for work includes gloves with cut off fingers, a fleece jacket, a hat, and a scarf. I think this hat is very appropriate for work, don’t you. Have a great night; I’m going to bed.

20130307-223020.jpg

20130307-223030.jpg

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Mom’s a mess and other matters”

  1. This entry in your blog was great…made me smile, laugh and cheer! Your picture taken after your class is wonderful. You look like my grandsons after a most joyous and fun day outside. Your face is beaming too! Daffodils are the heralds of Spring. Love, love, love them! I always buy them at Trader Joe’s, many bunches, and watch them open up all over the house. The color makes me happy. I love your hat, but even more, I love your courage for wearing it at work. You must work in a great environment if a hat like that is accepted. I love it. It again speaks of your child-like playfulness. I love your zest for life and how you enthusiastically dive into everything.

Leave a Reply

