Living Rooms Redone

The last few days have been very busy. On Saturday, we went to LA and got lots of nice, new to us, furniture. Couches, fancy coffee table, front loading washer/dryer set, and a few other things filled the moving van from the last post. The good news was that the process was quick. My parents house was clean, no barn to empty, and Scott, my brother was there to help move a washer / dryer into the moving van. We then went to a commercial storage unit and unloaded it.

That was the easy part, then the hard labor started. 2.5 days of hard labor. First we emptied the van and put everything into the garage. Then we emptied part of the living room and started swapping furniture between the garage and living room. In between as a break, we cleaned. Moved, cleaned, moved more stuff, and more cleaning. By 5 pm on saturday we had the van emptied (with help from a neighbor when I balked at moving the washer / dryer–too heavy me). The living room was looking good. Everything else was a disaster area. By the way, Liz and Mags — your room has acquired a few new things, it’s looking very cosy and you have an interesting labyrinth for meditation through the room. Here’s a picture of the living room.

20130226-221757.jpg

20130226-221811.jpg

And of course let’s not forget the crowing glory of our house arrangement — CATVILLE made with a collection catposts collected over the years. As Bob pointed out, that represents 100’s of dollars worth of specialty furniture. If those blighted cats will use it, we may leave catville there for a while. It does have the advantage of being right under a heater vent.

20130226-221839.jpg

Well at this point, the garage a maze, Liz and Mag’s room is a maze, you can’t use the front door; so it must be time for beer. Bob and I went with Elly down to Mother Earth in Vista. A great pub, they allow dogs and kids, a real family environment. Elly had a wonderful time. It is somewhat depressing when your dog has a better social life than you. Everyone had come over to see the dog and said “Hi” to us as a necessity. When we left, everyone said goodbye to Elly. Someone even stopped their car to say goodby to the dog.

By the way, how many people noticed the tree was missing from the picture in the last post? It died a few years ago and Bob finally cut it down. The tree was so dry that if it had been lit on fire, the flames probably would have been 20 feet above the tree. We get to use the pieces for firewood. So on Saturday night we continued our profligate ways by drinking a growler of beer and enjoying the firepit (a christmas present from Bob’s folks).

The next day, work continued. More moving, more cleaning, and general hard work. We now have a china cabinet in the kitchen (looks great) and one in our bedroom. Monday was more of the same as we prepared for my parents visit. You know all the pick and put stuff that migrates around the house. Well, it all got picked up and put into a laundry basket. I took 20 load of blankets and a rug from my parents to the Laundromat. Not as bad as it seems, the local Laundromat has a 10 load washer — you can get all the blankets in a house clean and dried in less than an hour. But it is an impressive mound of laundry. You get noticed when making multiple trips across the parking lot with armloads of blankets.

The day ended on a high note. My parents came down and spent the night. We had a great silly low key but fun birthday party for my mom–complete with ornaments, paper plates I forgot to put out, a cake, and presents. Made my famous stew, so now I have soup for the week. However, i was sore enough this morning that going to work instead of doing more moving sounded like fun. The pile in the garage can wait a week. I’ve got this fantastic idea for a 3D maze in the girls room……

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Living Rooms Redone”

  1. Your living room looks cozy and welcoming. Great job! I find that when moving furniture and accessories around and cleaning spots you forget about, the energy in the home is shifted and stirred up and revitalizes all who live there. Enjoy! I’ve been overloaded with information and new tools, trying to keep my sanity. I’ve started both new jobs at once! A bit frazzled! When things calm down a bit in a week or two, please let’s get together for breakfast. I get up at 3:45 now! Amazing. I miss you.

Leave a Reply

