Working and transitions

Realized yesterday morning that

  • I do like working
  • My job can be fun
  • It pays well
  • I like earning enough money to pay the bills and sometimes having a bit left over

But I don’t like going to work in the morning.  So the question is why?

And I realize the answer is transitions.  Remember taking your kids to daycare.  Dropping them off, instant tears, standing outside the door and waiting for them to stop crying. Usually it only took a minute or so for the kid to forget why she was upset and begin playing with her friends.

Well I’m like that kid.  Its nice, there’s good coffee, great company, and a wonderful selection of fun things to do.  I have to leave it all behind, drive to work, and spend the day doing stuff for other people.  I don’t want to go.  I want to do my stuff.

But like that little kid, I get to work and grab a cup of tea.  Say hello my friends, check my email, and start doing something that is considered important enough for someone to pay me good money.  So within a few minutes, I’ve settled into the job and am OK.  Wish the hours were less, but that’s not an option right now.  And overall, the job is good.

So wish me luck today as I go to work

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Working and transitions”

  1. With such a positive, upbeat attitude, you are going to have a great day! As an added bonus, you’ve inspired me to have a great attitude for my day, which means I, too, will have a great day working. Thank you for this wonderful message this morning. I appreciate you so very much!

Leave a Reply

