A new look

You may notice that there is a new look.  Yes, I’ve finally learned a bit about using the wordpress.com blogging tools.  Some of the big changes will include

1.  Table of contents (sort of).  There is no table of contents widget or tool.  Your limited to a list of 50 most recent posts.  So I’ll be creating monthly pages.  At the top of each month, there will be summary story of what happened.  And the posts for that month will be available on the sidebar.  So far, I’ve not gone over 50 posts per month, so this should work as substitute table of contents

2.  Categories.  I’ll be revising them based on what has been written.  At the moment, I’ll be deleting all existing categories.  Look for some new organization in the upcoming future.  At this point I’m leaning towards Connecting with Family and Friends, Exploring New Things, Animals, Art, Building Stuff, and Everything else.

3.  Sewing and other information.  Several years ago, my mom and I started writing a sewing book together.  I’ve created enough patterns and written enough draft material for several books.  But the publishing game is a lot of work and I don’t want to do it.  There’s not enough money to make it worthwhile.  So instead, I’ll share my sewing materials with my friends and the public.  Look for a link to a separate blog page in the future.

4.  Stories.  I’ve been writing lots of drafts of stories.  Well they are not doing any good sitting in my mind or on my computer.  And its going to be a couple years before I can illustrate the children’s stories on dragon cats.  So again look for another blog with some fun stuff.

While learning how to do these things, there was a handy guide asking why write a blog.  It’s been six months and I really enjoy the blogging process.  I’m learning to write, tell stories, and developing some new social media management skills.  But the exercise of examining why and what one wants to say was interesting.  Thought you might enjoy reading about my space.

WordPress Instructions on creating a blog and designing the blogspace

Why have a blog

In one minute write why you might want to have a blog.

To practice writing stories for an audience and get feedback on these stories

To keep in touch with my kids and extended family

To include my friends in my life

To explore different ideas

To share some great photos with others

To capture my progress as an artist

To track my growth as a woman exploring different sides of her being.

Write about events that happen which I  think are interesting/\

What am I passionate about:

Brainstorm about what makes me excited

Almost everything I do.

Work – want to be the best at my job.  Want to grow and learn new things

Learning – always want to be trying new things.

Travel – want to see lots of new things, so even if I can’t travel, I can daydream.

Art – want to be able to draw the pictures in my mind and create provocative sculptures

Writing – want to write some great stories and get them published.

Science Education – want to share my joy and passion for science, learning, and education with the kids.

Family – want to spend as much time as possible with those I love.

Friends – need to make time for those who add joy into my life.

Philosophy – thinking about ideas, news events,

Creating Categories

Creating groupings of why to have a blog with passions.

Connecting with loved ones – what’s happening in life, animal stories, general family news

Exploring new ideas / Creativity — travel, art, spiritual growth, learning, work, travel, art, education, photography & image processing

Building Stuff –science, sewing, making things, fixing stuff/repairs, story ideas, how to publish stories.

Everything else – whatever doesn’t fit into those categories.  VIFT, volunteer work

Gravatar

Need to create an image of myself that travels the webspace.  Usually includes a mug shot and a short statement.

Woman in the middle of changing status from mother to crone / old woman / wise woman (depending on belief systems). I’m exploring many things about myself and life.  This includes art, writing, getting a new dog, relearning how to have dates with my husband, and adjusting to an almost empty nest.  Life is great fun and I’m enjoying it all.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

