too much fun

Liz left today for school. She won’t be back for months. Mags is in San Fran for the weekend and won’t be back till later in the week. Even when she comes back, it will be for a day or two at a time. Trips to Ohio and Pennsylvania checking out grad schools, getting ready to move to Northern California, and other things will take her time. So we won’t see much her either. The joy of having all three girls together has to wait. Instead noise and chaos, we have quiet, some order, and much lower grocery bills. The rhythm of our lives has changed again. Kate mentioned that she also has some mixed feelings about this–loving the chaos of her sisters and loving the attention given to the only child at home.

Before Liz left, she and I ran errands and did a bit of play as well. I got to see Queen Califia’s Magical Sculpture Garden in Escondido for the first time. Got no pictures from there, too many small kids running around having a great game of hide and seek. So you’ll have to visit the website to see the beautiful sculptures. I”ll get back there someday with a camera when the lighting is right and I can take pictures without interruptions.
http://www.queencalifia.org/
But I did get some great pictures where Liz was having too much fun. She was playing on a swing. The IPAD can take some amazing pictures. I love the action shown in these shots. Someday I might be able to paint these pictures; preferably in oil. Of course, I need to improve my basic drawing skills and learn more about life drawing first. And then it might be useful to learn a bit about how to use acrylic and oil paints; I’m sure there are a few tricks I need to know.

20130113-201422.jpg

20130113-201458.jpg

20130113-201530.jpg

20130113-201601.jpg

I’m looking forward to the spring semester. At Palomar, I get to take Bronze Foundry 1 — the beginning of creating bronze statues. Didn’t think that I would get to take this class for another couple years. There is a prerequisite class that is only offered on Mondays and Wednesday evenings. Because of VIFT (the big band tournament), I can’t take this class for at least another year. But teacher let me skip the prequisites because I’ve been doing the paper mache sculptures. So I start this class on the 22nd. Had to drop the illustration class, but things are working out on the drawing side as well. There is a new art gallery, studio, and wine bar in downtown Vista. The lady running the gallery is going to teach some beginning drawing classes and life drawing classes on Saturdays, starting Feb 2nd. Whoooohoooooo, I get to do both things: learning to draw and learning how to do sculptures. And with the lower grocery bills, I might even be able to afford some of the art supplies.

As for Queen Califa’s garden, I’ve been meaning to go for a while. Checking on the website, it looks like I’ve been meaning to go for over 10 years. Why does it take so long to do something as simple as this? Don’t know and hope I start getting more things now in my present. That is part of my goals for 2013 — get outside more and do some more things with family and friends. And the art seems to be a good excuse for doing that. Have to continue collecting those photos for the someday to be painted pictures. The journey will be exciting.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

One thought on “too much fun”

  1. I love your enthusiasm and how excited you get about things in your life. It’s so very inspirational. Great pictures, too.

Leave a Reply

